Motivation logo

I'm not perfect and that's chill

Tips for being content with your life.

By A.I. FerroPublished 3 years ago 3 min read
Like
I'm not perfect and that's chill
Photo by Mojor Zhu on Unsplash

Thanks for checking out my article, if you enjoyed this please drop a like!

"Content - in state of peaceful happiness"

Between Instagram and constant passive comments of relatives it can be easy to feel like you're behind the curve somehow. Like you dropped the imaginary ball and every one else is blowing by while you struggle to find your place in the world. Maybe you feel like your job is not enough or maybe you see that a Facebook friend just paid off their student loans early. So, naturally you'll start grinding and stressing to find new ways to keep up with the new status quo.

In recent years, our culture has developed a new taste for perfection. Not just in your appearance ( though that will probably always be a thing) but in every single aspect of life. Your dinner plate is supposed to look like a photo from a cookbook, your home a magazine, your bank account should be fat and your debt should be minimal. Its become an overwhelming race to the finish line of perfection. People will shame you for not traveling "enough" or for losing weight by gastric bypass instead of becoming a raw vegan. It feels like its impossible to do anything right.

The truth is, it is impossible. Its impossible to live a perfectly well rounded life. Influencers make a life out of living the dream. But people like you and I? I got up at four this morning to teach screaming kids thousands of miles away to speak English. I'm tired a lot and I eat too much bread. I'm probably never going to quit working so I can travel the country in a tricked out van. And honestly, that's ok. I'm ok with where I'm at because, in my mind this works for me. I'm content with it. In the grand scheme of life everything is what you decide it is. I'm not saying don't quit your job if you hate it, you should definitely quit a job if its leaving you a joy deprived, sad shell of a human being. What I'm saying is redefine success and be grateful for what you have. Be proud of the hard work you've done so far so you can give yourself the peace to keep growing.

Quick tips on being content -

1. Be grateful - write a list of things you're grateful for everyday, it will bring you a little peace and joy

2.Ditch social media (even if its just for a week) - we know that social media only shows other people's best moments, log out of Instagram and take a breather from perfection.

3.Find joy in your daily rituals - I enjoy my morning cup of coffee while wrestling our incredibly ill behaved kitten for my slippers. Take note of your rituals and savor them. Don't have any yet? That's totally ok, try stuff out until you find your groove.

4. Tell people you love them - no explanation needed. And while you're at, tell them you appreciate them. They'll absolutely glow.

5. Light other people's candles - By this I mean, bring other people joy. Send grandma a card, call your mom and tell a stranger you like their outfit.

6. Remind yourself that you're enough.

There's a power to being content. Content doesn't mean that you've stopped pursuing new challenges or new goals. Being content doesn't mean you've stopped dreaming. It means you find joy and peace in the everyday. It means you have the calmness and space to continue pursuing those dreams without the pressure of pursuing perfection. If you're content with where you're at in life then your life is perfect for you.

advice
Like

About the Creator

A.I. Ferro

A hobbyist writer looking to flex that creative muscle

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.