Motivation logo

I'M A PRODUCT OF MY ENVIRONMENT

Victim Mentality(Let it Go)

By J.ClarkPublished 3 years ago 3 min read
1
Make your life Count

When you hear someone say," I'm a product of my environment" What do you think they are saying? Here's what I believe a person is saying when they state the above. A person is saying, I am who I am because of my environment, the people I hang around, the people I see daily, the food my parents prepared for me growing up, the things that happened to me over the years, and things I was forced to hear, say, do, and see in my life, molded me to be the person you see before you. So if you feel any kind of way about me, blame my surroundings. Typical right??? It's like the go-to cliché' to get out of finally being exposed to the truth about self, and hearing any good that can come out of bringing you out of self-pity. Been there, done that. lol.

So many people are hurt by what they were exposed to as a child and adult. Why? Words of discouragement planted as seeds, traditions in families that were considered the way of life and the way of getting by in a world full of sorrow and sadness, different religions that depicted false doctrine that so many were raised on, there just so many reasons, etc. However, the statement and some may even say the true statement, "I'm a product of my environment" should never be used as an excuse to stay in the condition from which you derived from. We should always make a sound decision, and strive to be better than what has been exhibited.

Why is it so easy to make excuses for why we are the way we are? Rather than taking the steps needed to come out of dysfunction. Why is it so easy to wallow in our sorrow? Is it because it’s a comfortable and familiar place? You can be so used to living an abnormal life, you believe it’s normality. When you protect and defend your dysfunctions you stay bound to them. Change starts with self, be the change you want to see. This blog is not to disregard situations, feelings, etc that caused a person to be violated by another's irresponsible and treacherous behavior. The point is we all have to move forward eventually at some point in our lives. Even if it's a hard pill to swallow. Forgive and Move forward. Do it for yourself. change your story if you don't like it. Whatever you do, move forward.

What are somethings you can do to come out of the situation you find yourself stuck in? Have you ever thought about coming out? Why or Why not? These are hard questions you should ask yourself if you’re ever gonna be free and free indeed. I’m just saying. We can be our own stumbling block. Once again, been there done that. You may experience things in life that may be harsh, traumatic, unforgettable, shocking, painful, and just outright unfortunate, but it’s no excuse to stay and wallow in it. Everyone has experienced trials and tribulations one way or another in their life. Who said the road would be easy? If you find them let me know cause they lied. Lol. Seriously, it’s what you decide to do with that pain, that will allow you to get up from that place of despair and depression and go soaring. Sometimes it will even seem easier said than done. However, all things are possible to those who believe. Do you believe? Believe you can do anything. Believe in yourself. Believe that what you see now is temporary and subject to change. Just Believe! You’re only a product of your environment when you give in to it. Fear, doubt, and unbelief are connected to what you choose to believe about yourself. Be Free.

advice
1

About the Creator

J.Clark

Creative Writer

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.