Motivation logo

I Found A Lost Piece Of Myself Watching This Rainbow

Sometimes we need a break to love ourselves.

By Giorgos PantsiosPublished 3 years ago 3 min read
Like
Image captured by me.

A rainy Sunday found me writing once again. I’m writing every day. I’m writing to get better, story by story — as most of us do. I read endless guides on Medium to understand what works and what doesn't.

You and I have something in common. We are workaholics. Hustling every day just to get going with life. The end of every month is our milestone. Getting that paycheck makes us love our job.

We all have some hustle. Writers, content creators, writers, 9–5ers. I’m following my dream to be a writer lately and make a solid income out of it. I love it and maybe I love it way too much.

I also love my parents, I love the stray dog in my neighborhood, I love my best friends, I love my couch. I show them love in my way — that couch saw so many movies with me, it must be happy.

But what about me? I forgot to pay attention to the most important person in my life. Me.

The rain stopped. From my window, I saw the part of a rainbow. It got hidden behind the wall of my home. “It’s just another rainbow”, I said to myself and continued writing.

But something clicked inside of me. I needed a break. That moody weather made me daydream. I wanted to leave everything behind and for once be one with mother nature.

I say screw it, as I head to the balcony to get a better look at that bright rainbow.

I saw the rainbow in the picture above. The brightest and fullest rainbow I have ever seen.

I stayed still, looking at it for more than 10 minutes. It was so huge that it covered my whole view. I had to use the wide-angle lens of my smartphone to get that rare sight.

I was in awe.

My thoughts were paused. My daily struggles and problems were gone. I was only trying to print that image in my mind. Make it a poster for my brain to look at when I need it.

I found something to give to myself. A moment to think of. But that moment wasn't just a moment.

It was also a lesson for me. Carpe Diem.

For once, I left the routine behind. I gave myself an unforced break. It wasn't the typical routine break. I now know that I will take breaks whenever I feel like it. I’m loving myself and I’m not an employee of myself anymore.

A piece of me was found that day. I’m filled with anxiety, stress, anger. But that piece is there to calm me. It’s a rope I can hold on to. Get strength from.

You can find your missing piece too.

Try to pay attention to the little details. Life gives us many pieces for our minds to fill with.

Instead of avoiding them, embrace them. Learn from them.

I learned how to give some love to myself that rainy Sunday.

Can you give some to yours too?

People fail to notice the little details life is throwing at them. I knew it when I was a child. But a movie reminded me that this thing exists. I watched Demolition in 2015 and since then my life changed. My attention in particular. I notice things and value them differently now. I hope that you can find meaning in my words.

The same way I found meaning in the movie that I watched 6 years ago.

Remember, life is more than what society shows us. More than money, social status, and routine.

It's about living.

This story was originally posted on Medium.

advice
Like

About the Creator

Giorgos Pantsios

Fulltime Writer | Fulltime learner | Polymath from Greece | Exploring life | Modern Philosopher | Phone Photographer https://linktr.ee/giorgospantsios

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.