Motivation logo

I Experimented on Myself Using “The Secret”

“The Secret” is true because I made it true

By Olivia MarlenePublished 3 years ago 4 min read
2
The Secret book by Rhonda Byrne. Image by Gabriele M. Reinhardt from Pixabay

It was in the summer of 2013 when I got hold of The Secret book by Rhonda Byrne. It is a self-help book containing a lot of stories on the workings of the Law of Attraction. The book claims that we can change our circumstances just by changing our thoughts. Be positive, be specific on what you want, and the universe will arrange the events to deliver it to you – that's the basic instruction contained in the book.

Yeah right, at the back of my mind, it was too good to be true. Visualization then manifestation, simple. But since there have been so many testimonials that the lessons elucidated in the book are true, I said, "let me test it."

The Experiment: Following "The Secret"

The following day, I found myself reciting the Lawyer's Oath in front of the mirror with my right hand raised. I may have perfected my visualization because I started to cry come in the middle of the Oath. It was so true. In fact, this writing reminded me of it and I feel like crying now.

Every day for six months during my review, I start my day reciting the Oath in front of the mirror. I also take a look at the vision board in front of my desk containing a made-up newspaper clipping of the bar passers with my name included.

I visualized how relaxed I am while taking the exams, how my handwriting looks on the examination notebook, how I sit, and even how I feel with my dress during that day.

I also visualized how my reaction will be on the day when the passers will be announced. I practiced the song that I will sing during the testimonial dinner usually given for new lawyers.

I laid down the entire plan and visualized it happening every single day. I claimed it and felt it to be true. I made myself a lawyer even before it was officially declared.

That was the instruction of The Secret. I followed it with all my heart.

The Result

It was March 18, 2014, after six months of waiting, I put on my red dress that was part of the plan. I went to the office, pretended that it was an ordinary day but deep inside I knew that it will be a momentous day of my life.

By noon, the world stopped for a moment. I'm having goosebumps while writing this but I can clearly remember how I froze in disbelief. Everything happened as I have visualized it.

People in the office started clapping, my mobile phone didn't stop ringing, and even the office landline rang now and then connecting me to friends all giving their greetings.

Within 30 minutes from the announcement of passers, a picture of me with a congratulatory message from our Office has been posted on our official website. My Facebook wall and messenger were all flooded with messages. The following day came to an avalanche of flowers and cakes from family and friends.

At that moment, I was an addition to the plenty of testimonials contained in The Secret book.

Do I Owe It to "The Secret"?

No. I owe it to myself.

The Secret is a good book, well-written, and persuasive. It was so persuasive that I blindly followed the instructions and had faith that it will come true.

The book's instruction is to just set your mind on what you want without worrying about how are you going to get it. It says that the "how" will be for the universe to handle. The universe that will arrange circumstances for your dreams to come true.

My plans did come true but it is because I made it true. I worked hard for it. I didn't simply want and visualize. I made sure that every minute of my day was spent towards the achievement of my plans.

Photo by Gustavo Fring from Pexels

Lesson Learned: "The Secret "Is True but It's Not a Secret

The teachings of The Secret are true. If you plan and visualize, eventually it will manifest.

But it is not a secret at all. It is a concept that we all knew: GOAL SETTING

When you are clear with what you want, isn't it the number one requirement in SMART goal setting? To to be specific.

When you imagine that you are presently holding what you want, isn't it just laying down a clear vision of the outcome of your goals?

I manifested what I want because I was laser-focused on the goal. I laid down and implemented up to the smallest detail of my plan.

It was not a magic plan, then wait and see. It was having a clear goal and plan of action associated with hard work.

Takeaway:

Great achievements start with the mind. We can choose to be successful or dwell in our failures. We can always elect happiness in an instant. We have full control of our thoughts and we should capitalize on it.

"The Secret" book encourages positive thoughts as thoughts become your feelings, feelings become your actions, and your actions become your results. You will become the result of your thoughts.

I recommend the book. Read it if you have not done so. It will make your cells attuned to what you want. It will make your heartbeat produce enormous gratitude because of the feeling that you already have all that you want.

The desire to sustain the feeling of having your dream right on your hands will propel you to give all your energy to attain your dreams. The feeling is good and you will want to hold on to it.

Test "The Secret". It's true because you will make it true.

----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

This story was originally published by the author in Medium.com on October 19, 2020.

book review
2

About the Creator

Olivia Marlene

Member of the Legal Profession * Saving and Investing Enthusiast *Blogger * Mom * Wife

You can follow me on Facebook and Twitter

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.