Motivation logo

Humor me!

Laughter is the best medicine

By Nkeonye Judith IZUKAPublished 4 years ago 3 min read
2

How would life be without humor? I am referring to humor which lightens us when the world is dealing with its blows. Imagine its absence in these times! These are times people are seeking for answers. Some are looking for means of escape! It's their coping mechanism for dealing with a crisis. It's at times like this humor is the answer. I start my search on Instagram. One of my first stops:

This is an account I discovered through a friend of mine. She had made repeated references to this account. For starters, the name of the account was not catchy so I did not go looking at first. Then one day, my friend tagged her in a post. I clicked on her handle and that was it. When I am on Instagram, other than my newsfeed/stories, I search on her page to see if she has a new video. She is not a one-off for me. She is a 'repeat prescription'. If it's one of those days when I am disenchanted with the world or feeling listless, I go to her page.

Photo by Social Media Week Lagos

What's with her page? It has lots of video content. I find these videos funny. She is usually the main character playing multiple roles with the help of technology. She makes you laugh with sometimes silly content. She focuses on relatable subjects. These are stories and realities that grace the lives of the average Nigerian. Sometimes, she takes a continental or global twist. She seems 'unhinged' and she sure has honed her skills over time. Sometimes I can't get enough like many followers. Think about it like the wait for the next episode/season of a thriving series.

Image credits: My family whatsapp group

My next focus is this picture above. I belong to several WhatsApp groups. This picture was circulated on one of such groups, two weeks ago. I broke into a grin and by the last line, I burst into laughter with attendant tears. The menu and places highlighted are peculiar to the South-eastern people of Nigeria. Why did it stand out? People can crack you up despite the anxiety Coronavirus has created.

By Preslie Hirsch on Unsplash

My last focus is one of the most-watched YouTube videos of one of my favorite late-night show hosts. My very first encounter with Trevor Noah was on my sister's iPad, while she watched a ton of his videos. I started my subscription a couple of years later. Then I started receiving new notifications. Like Maraji's Instagram page, Trevor's videos are comic relief. Good humor tends to cure many things, sadness included. The link to the video below depicts Trevor doing something he knows very well to do: a mimic. In doing these mimics, he gets his audience roaring in laughter. He is intelligent and brings that gift to content and delivery. Now Trevor Noah is the main host of the daily show. He also hosts private 'gigs' around the world. It is one of those private gigs I have posted its videos below. I find that the content of his private gigs are more hilarious compared to the contents of the daily show. He still finds a way to fit in current affairs in these gigs which for me, is a bonus.

I would rather get current affairs delivered by a comedian than a typical newscaster. These artists' delivery lightens the burden of the news and all the chaos. It's the humour accompanying the news and information, that gets me through it all.

social media
2

About the Creator

Nkeonye Judith IZUKA

love life & humor, simple, grounded, focused, tenacious, motivated, warm- hearted and a fan of nutrition

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.