Motivation logo

How to Win When Things Don't Go Your Way

Lessons Learned From Getting Robbed

By AceadiaPublished 5 years ago 5 min read
Like

How to Win When Things Don't Go Your Way

This past week I almost got scammed to spend $550, actually got robbed in person in the South Side of Chicago, borrowed $470 believing with absolute certainty that the money would so easily and quickly come back to me, only to fall short on the due date to return the money.

So winning... didn't feel too much of that.

When's the last time you had a time period when things didn't feel like they weren't going in your favor?

But what could be done about this? I could complain, bitch, cry, and ruminate. But that was not going to get me anywhere. And that definitely wasn't going to make me any money.

I kept going back to one answer. The only thing that can be done about this is to be grateful.

Let's be grateful I kept getting scammed, robbed, and lost a shit ton of money right?

So... maybe not like that.

Getting robbed again was a gift because it taught me many lessons:

1) There are many harsh realities I have to wake up to in life.

There was this beautiful moment when I just looked at the boy as he ran away slowly, like turtle slow guys. And I just let it happen, because I was so in disbelief.

“Is this really happening? This isn’t real. He’s just playing with me. He’s trying to be funny. He’s a good guy.”

That moment is when I let life happen to me, because I did not yet face the harsh facts and realities that really did exist.

What other harsh realities did I not accept yet that would create many effects just like that moment when I just stood there, and let myself get robbed?

The path to living my purpose, and going for my dreams won’t always be easy? Big sad.

I can't have everyone in the world love me?

That, as you have a goal, many obstacles will come in the way?

But life is beautiful and full of opportunity, and with the right work, I can manifest what I want. But it’s not always a bright happily paved, easy road.

I really needed to get robbed guys.

Just as I watched that boy run away with my 64GB iPhone X in good condition, four scratches on screen, I could see all my hopes and dreams slowly slip away, because this is exactly the direction my life was going in because I wasn't making the necessary changes and decisions.

2) You don’t need anything in life that's bad enough to fall for, or to get into something that isn’t meant for you.

There were so many signs before a robbery that something was up. I put a price up for $596, the guy offered $700. His name on LetGo was literally, "Great Deals" with an all black screen profile picture. But I felt like I really NEEDED the money. I felt like I really NEEDED this. Enough to overlook signs.

Have you ever done this in another area of your life?

Maybe you met a potential love interest, and you had the signs that this wasn't right... maybe saw a red flag, or 27, but you still kept going on to invest and pursue a relationship.

There's no judgement if you've been there. Because I have too. And it only ends in pain.

The same pain that comes from dropping certain standards, and ignoring signs in order to get an outcome you think you NEED.

You don't need any business deal. You desire and deserve the right one.

You don't need any relationship. You desire and deserve someone the fits right with you.

3) You are always taken care of, and you always have something to give.

Now I'm not broke broke, but I am negative in cash flow right now. I owe a credit card, and someone else, money. I'm not as worried as I was before about my financial situation, because I know I have phones I can still sell. And I'm so blessed and relieved that my life has been so fortunate, and I will always have a roof over my head and food to eat. The universe will always take care of me, and I've seen that time and time again. As I was gifted with a beautiful shift at work, money will flow to me and I can again enjoy spending cash to get and experience the little things in life I love.

I knew I was taken care of, and even with a negative credit card balance, even with owing others money, I had $2.40 that I could give away to someone dealing with homelessness on the street.

Why Give?

1) When it was negative fifty degrees in Chicago, six homeless people froze to the ground. I thought, "How could no one do something?" Then I realized it was probably because everyone always thought someone else would help. It's important to give when you can, because you might be the only person that does.

2) I had just come from a meditation class that had shared with me that most people think they'll be happy when they get things, but most psychological studies show that giving produces the most happiness.

3) Tony Robbins always says that if you don't give $1 out of $10 you won't give $100 out of a million. No matter where you are, it's important to give.

Maybe in your life you aren't financially broke right now. Maybe you're dealing with another issue in your life that feels like a loss. But if you look again, is there a possibility that with how little it might seem like there is, that you're still taken care of? And is there anyway you could still just give a little?

Bad things will happen, but sometimes the only thing you can do is be grateful, see the good, and make use of what you’ve been given. You can't always get what you want, but you can always learn.

To be honest, I totally failed. And I was okay. I needed this to happen so I could breakthrough so many limiting beliefs, and fail. But maybe life isn't so black and white. Maybe if I can pull lessons out of every experience, I didn't fail.

I hope this story helps to give you ideas on how to pull lessons from any perceived failures, and to feel safer to go and do new things. You either get what you want and win, or you don't get what you want, and you learn and grow.

With the right mindset, things might just really work out for you no matter what you do.

Disclaimer: I was nowhere near this great in my mindset when all this first happened. But if something bad happens, I do want to get the most out of it, and this content is what came :)

Feel free to donate to my new GoFundMe @ Ya Girl Aceadia made some dumb decisions and now she broke so pls help :)

advice
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.