Motivation logo

How to figure out your dream in life

And start living with intention & purpose

By Osana WasutPublished 4 years ago 6 min read
2

I am a big dreamer, I always have been and always will be, but what I have realized is that not everyone is like that. Not everyone has a dream, and I find that rather... Sad.

My favorite thing to ask people is "what is your dream life?" and I am rather surprised by how many people simply stare back as though I just asked them some complicated math equation.

It's not a trick question, I'm simply wondering what their dream life is, what makes them get out of bed in the morning, what makes them go to the job they actually hate, what makes them do the things they do?

If you aren't doing something in alignment with your dreams in life, then what are you doing it for?

For myself, I worked for many years at a little breakfast cafe, serving bacon and eggs type thing, coffee and toast to hundreds of people each day. It was long days, I made good money because I was good at what I did. But the whole time, I had a much bigger dream that I was working towards.

I would go home after my long 8 hour day of running around a small family-owned restaurant, sometimes I would take a short nap because I had been up since 6 am most mornings, and then... I would get to work on my dreams in life.

I would study and learn, develop my mind and become a better human being. I did this for a few years before I eventually quit to follow my heart and go travel for a couple of months.

Anyways, this post isn't about me, this is about you. What is your dream life?

Do you even know what it is? IF you do, that's amazing! Good for you! Because what I have found is that most people don't, they don't ask this question, maybe because they have lost hope and don't believe they can live their dream, so they settle working at a mediocre job, making a lame salary and they struggle to make ends meet.

So in this post, I will share with you some activities and ideas that will help you to get clear on what your dream life is, and how you can go after it with reckless abandon!

1. Write out what your perfect day will look like- This is a powerful exercise that I have done on a few occasions now. You can look it up with a quick google search, but the gist of it is, you write out from the moment you wake up till the moment you go to bed, what your perfect most ideal day would look like. Once you know what a perfect day looks like, you can start doing those things, and before you know it, those perfect days will turn into a perfect life.

2. Figure out your 3-year ideal future- We often overestimate what we can do in 1 year, and underestimate what we can do in 3 years. So look ahead 3 years from now. Where are you? What do you look like? Have you lost that weight you wanted? 3 years is enough time to lose really any amount of weight, reclaim your health and well being and start living the life you deserve. So at this point, just design what you would like the next 3 years to look like. Dream big and even if you say you'd like to own a Ferrari within 3 years, and in 1 year from now you decide you don't want that after all, then that's okay! You are allowed to change your mind!

3. Decide now what you can start doing today that will get you to your 3-year vision - Look again at what you wrote down for your 3-year ideal future and your perfect day, and start to work towards those things. You want to lose 50 pounds of unnecessary weight, well that's great! you have 3 years to do it, not two weeks, not 3 months, 3 years! So just start doing something today towards that, maybe its just a single squat today, and tomorrow its 2 squats, and then 3 and so forth. You know what you are capable of. But I find that often we don't give ourselves enough time to do the things we want. We say I need to lose 50 pounds by this date in 2 months. That's just not going to happen, because, after 1 week, you might give up. SO I find when we give ourselves a decent amount of time, such as 3 years, it's so much more available to reach because we aren't racing against the clock. I lost over 60 pounds over my journey, and it happened over the span of 5 years. I gave myself 2 years when I started, and I said if I give this 2 years now, I will be 24 and then I will reevaluate my life and make changes as needed. This was perfect because I knew it wasn't a quick fix two-week type of thing, this was a lifestyle change!

4. Create a long list of what you truly want- Now this is the final thing I will share with you today, yet one of the most important, because so often, we have no idea what we actually want in life, we know what we don't want, but we fail to know what we do want. This will become a list you refer back to frequently, and you can check them off as they happen, but here is your chance to get creative and dream big!! If you want to sail around the world then write it down, if you want to build a beautiful home overlooking the ocean, then write it down, don't limit your potential by keeping your list small & humble, no think bigger then you ever have before! This list is your north star that you can always refer back to as time goes on, when you need some extra inspiration or just need to remember why you are doing the things you are doing. Having a list of things you want, will keep you focused instead of succumbing to the normal routine that we tend to find ourselves in. So go start your list now, and over the next 2 weeks, continuously add to that list!

Alright, well there are a few tips on how you can figure out what your dream in life is, and start to live with intention and purpose. I hope this helps, and if you are looking for more, I have written extensively about this topic so check out some of my other posts on vocal!

Thanks for reading, have a magical day!

With Love and Light,

Lindsay @ World Dreamerz

advice
2

About the Creator

Osana Wasut

Sharing my stories with the world. Writing has been a great tool for transformation, and I feel like I am only starting to dive deep into the self. Life is a wonderful gift, live to the fullest!

Find me at www.osanawasut.ca

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.