Motivation logo

How to Become a Better Version of Yourself Through the Failure

A ship in harbor is safe, but that is not what ships are built for.

By Karma LVPublished 6 years ago 4 min read
Like

Fall on your face! Fail! Fail spectacularly. Because when you fail, you learn. When you fail, you live.

This quote is from the movie I like a lotThe Last Word, 2017. It shows the life in real colors and says to every person on another side of the screen: no matter how hard life is at the moment, no matter what's your age—it is not the end until it is the end. You can fail million times, but this is how you grow, how you become a better version of yourself.

Last year I failed several times. Not because I did something bad, but because I just didn't know how to do it right at that time. So I was trying to choose those things that I thought would be better at that particular moment. And even though I believe in karma, still sometimes I come back to thoughts about what should I do at that time, what would be better in that situation, what would lead to a better NOW.

But there will be never a better now than a REAL NOW.

You are alive. You have enough. And you have the power to move on and to recover from the worst times.

I want to share with you some things that help me to be grateful for what I have at the moment, concentrate on a good stuff, let go of the past and the pain and to be happy with a place I am at in life now.

1. Don't be afraid to stay alone.

Spend time alone. There is nothing bad in being lonely. Use it for healing, for talking to yourself, for understanding your true self: your wishes, dreams and further goals. Stay alone for just doing nothing. Nowadays progress makes people run back and forth and constantly do something without even a second for rest. Use this awesome time for reconnecting with yourself, for loving yourself, and for transformation.

So I've decided to stop poisoning myself. To be responsible for my health, my body and my LIFE. Because nobody will do instead.

You are able to do it too.

I quit smoking, because last 2 years I was pretending I did. Somehow I had an excuse to smoke just one or two from time to time. Eventually I've chosen to be healthy and to not fool myself anymore.

3. Have a healthy habit.

I do yoga for about 5 years. But when I had some problems in life, I couldn't even move, eat or work. Last time after couple of months in bed sinking in tears I've decided, that enough is enough. One day I simply started a challenge for myself: do yoga and meditate every morning before doing anything else. Because I knew it is good for my body, for both physical and mental health. Because it helps to overcome doubts, to think positively and to simply feel better. From that time I can't imagine my day starts not from yoga.

It doesn't have to be only yoga. Simply have one healthy habit for yourself that will bring you joy and pleasure. Start to run every morning with your dog at the park, do exercises, pilates, go to swim in the swimming pool or whatever you find cool for yourself. It can be challenging from the very beginning, but you will feel much better soon.

4. Find a new hobby.

It can be anything you are willing to do or wanted to do for a long time, but for some reason you didn't. Draw, write poems, knit socks, learn a new language, or how to play guitar at last! Or you can simply educate yourself. There are many online and offline courses that can give you new useful skills and powerful knowledge. In such a way you can change your working field or even life completely.

In my case I've chosen to develop my professional skills and found a couple of great educational courses to learn something fresh I can use in my work.

5. Read, watch movies, and listen to the music.

It seems like these are usual things to do. But! How often we just leave new stuff for tomorrow. We pin tabs to read interesting articles later and we never come back to them again. We look at the books on the shelf and never touch them. We miss new albums and beautiful videos that can inspire us, switch our mood from meh to wonderful.

Read all that you postponed for better times. Open those books and you will find answers on your questions. Watch new movies. I found many amazing ones that gave me hope, taught me something, or showed me some situations I needed to see in another angle. They've changed me.

Listen to the music with closed eyes and just breathe, enjoying each sound. Remember, that anything can be a meditation if you're doing it with 100% of awareness.

Here are some books, moviesm and music from me to you.

Books

  • A Wild Sheep Chase, Haruki Murakami
  • The Old Man and the Sea, Ernest Hemingway
  • One Hundred Years of Solitude, Gabriel García Márquez
  • Comfortable with Uncertainty, Pema Chödrön
  • Awakening the Buddha Within, Lama Surya Das
  • The Power of Now, Ekhart Tolle

Movies and Shows

  • The Last Word, 2017
  • Love, 2015
  • The Big Sick, 2017
  • BoJack Horseman, 2014
  • The Mountain Between Us, 2017
  • Forrest Gump, 1994
  • Beasts of No Nation, 2015
  • Hunt for the Wilderpeople, 2016
  • Tracks, 2013

Music

6. Dance and Sing in the Shower!

Stop procrastinating and feel pity for yourself! Sing in the shower, turn on a nice music, and dance as crazy all over the house! Everything is gonna be alright. Even if it takes time. Spend this time for yourself. Love yourself, indulge yourself and become a better version of yourself.

advice
Like

About the Creator

Karma LV

Anything that inspires me, makes me stronger.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.