Motivation logo

How Sharing the Same Attributes of the Millionaire's Mind, Can Earn You More Money

Shifting your money mindset can lead to financial freedom

By Jennifer PittsPublished 2 years ago 5 min read
1
By Maklay62 from Pixabay

When it comes to money, some of us seem more blessed than others. Upbringing and environment play a role, but as I get older, I'm starting to understand that my journey with money may have played out in adulthood because of the common phrases I heard growing up.

"If only money grew on trees."

"I can't afford that."

"That's too expensive."

"If only I could win the lottery."

"Money is evil."

"Money doesn't buy happiness."

These phrases became the foundation of my money experience, making me save at an early age because of the fear of it eventually running out. On the contrary, it made me a bit stingy throughout my life when having to spend it.

Until recently, when I decided to change my money mindset and manifest what I deserve, more opportunities which will lead me to more money.

My first opportunity was to go back to school to educate myself

Education is essential if you want to bring more income into your life, not only that but continuing education. I decided at thirty-five to go back to school and enroll in a Holistic Nutritional program. Why? Because I’m passionate about the mind, body, and soul connection.

If I live my soul’s purpose with passion, it won’t be about making money, but I feel the money will follow.

By updating my education, I will work with clients one on one, build courses, launch a podcast, continue to write articles, create E-books and many more opportunities, which will generate more income streams.

We are fortunate to live in a generation where we have numerous tools to self-educate. If you can't go back to school right now, you can take the time and educate yourself.

  1. I was using online courses, such as Khan Academy. I used this platform to help with my anatomy course for school. I was able to do much better on my exam because I was able to learn visually.
  2. You want to learn a new language, then check out Duolingo, which can be an app installed on your phone; maybe you could generate another income source from it.
  3. Ted Talk videos are very inspiring and can help lay down the foundations in topics that interest you. Real people are having honest conversations.

It is less about investing in the stock market and much more about investing in ourselves, our careers, our professional practices, our private businesses and so forth — The Millionaire Mind

I learned about finances and started to invest more of my money instead of saving all of it

I am by no means a financial advisor, but I have taken it upon myself to learn about investments.

Growing up, I had a fear and attachment to money; my family didn't have much of it, and my beliefs about money stayed with me until recently when I decided to change them. After investing in a financial mentor, she helped me understand that I was always saving my money because I was afraid of losing it and possibly experiencing the same feelings as when I was a child.

Saving money is essential, which you should continue to do so you have a safety net and access to your money if you need it, but investments are the wisdom of self-made millionaires. I invest in long-term investments every month consistently to gain compound interest which will build wealth over time. Most importantly, I make sure I have a wide variety in my portfolio if one of my investments is not producing well.

I stay away from getting rich quick investments, I want something sustainable, and even though some people get wealthy, most people lose their money.

I try to be frugal, thrift shop and do most things for free

I love to thrift shop, and I also live in one of the most expensive cities in the world, Vancouver, where many people donate their expensive and sometimes unused items. Recently I picked up a Heschel backpack for $18.00, est. Retail $60.00. Last year Spyder white snowboarding pants to go with my Burton coat for $20.00, est. Retail $500.00.

I also don't spend my money on unnecessary items. The gas stations are a perfect example of money grabbers when you pay for your gas—two-for-one chocolate bars, scratch tickets, are always unnecessary purchases that will add up over time.

Spending time with friends and family while hiking, picnics at the beach or day road trips are all great ways to save money while still maintaining a connection with the people you love.

You cannot enjoy life if you are addicted to consumption and the use of credit — Thomas J. Stanley

I read most of the book, The Mind of a Millionaire by Thomas J. Stanley

It's a book I will continue to read. Every time I pick it up, new and inspiring information jumps out at me. Dr. Stanley interviewed sixty millionaires in 1983 located in Oklahoma. Surprisingly most became millionaires in one generation while living a full-filling and balanced lifestyle.

These financially wealthy people have the mind of a millionaire. To have this in mind, you will need to change how you think about money and what it means. In the book, the five most key factors mentioned by these millionaires for economic success are.

  • Integrity — Being honest with all people.
  • Discipline — applying self-control
  • Social skills — getting along with people
  • A supportive spouse
  • Hard work — more than most people

They also have the courage to take a financial risk when it comes to investments as long it gives them the proper return, but most do not gamble; they are smart with their money, and they see gambling as a risky habit, not as a return.

The book also mentions the difference between a real millionaire versus an image millionaire.

The image millionaire will buy things to make them happy or gain status, such as dining at the finest restaurants, leasing a couple of expensive vehicles, owning numerous watches, renting their homes, and not generating much wealth

Whereas the real millionaire Dr. Stanley considers them to be a cheap date.

They prefer to spend time with their children, grandchildren, and close friends. They are playing sports such as golf and tennis and shopping in bulk at places like Costco. More of their energy goes into learning more about investments, studying art, or whatever interests them.

Final Thoughts

Having the mind of a millionaire can open opportunities for anyone; you must change the way you think and stop overindulging in things that don't matter. It will take time, but if you can start implementing some changes by cutting out unhealthy habits, you will begin to see your money grow and become more valuable and hopefully pave the way to your financial freedom.

Coming into my forties, I've finally have gained some financial freedom, but I'm thirsty to know more. The more I want wealth, the more I'm meeting people who understand it, the more I'm receiving money blessings because I've finally have learned the wisdom if I deserve anything, it's more money.

Copyright © 2021, Jennifer Pitts, All Rights Reserved.

success
1

About the Creator

Jennifer Pitts

Hoping to inspire others with my writing!

Follow @theinspiredtruthwellness IG

Twitter @Jenniferlapitts

Linkedln

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.