Motivation logo

How one Notion template improved my productivity.

Over the last few months of using Notion, I have come across a handful of great templates created by other users.

By Matthew KennedyPublished 3 years ago 3 min read
Top Story - August 2021
18

Over the last few months of using Notion, I have come across a handful of great templates created by other users, that have helped save me a great deal of time in having to build one from scratch.

This has allowed me to jump right in and use the tool for its intended purpose, to help organise my scattered brain and help improve my productivity.

Weekly Goal Tracker

The Weekly Habit Tracker created by Glenn André Viste Bøe, is simple and effective. I had been looking for a template or create something that could track a range of high-level tasks each week to keep me on track, from medium posts to reading.

What makes this template so great, not only the fact that it is free and will save you a lot of hassle creating one from scratch is how easy it is to use, and how effective it has been in increasing my own productivity and reaching goals each and every week, consistently.

Each week I launch a new week and it pulls through my chosen goals from the template, including the targets I have set for each high-level task and off you go!

Reaching your goals, consistently

The main benefit I have seen from using this template within my own workflow is having a clear view of everything I want to achieve each week, seeing your preset goals at the start of every week, at least in my case, has reduced the number of times I think to myself, I will start this tomorrow.

Something as simple as a checkbox, and having the satisfaction of ticking off each stage of your goals throughout the week, has always been a good motivator for me and has had a similar effect to using a simple checkbox in a notebook at the start of every day.

Photo by Glenn Carstens-Peters on Unsplash

It might be great, but it’s not magic

This might be a great tool to help improve your productivity or keep on top of your own personal development, but without putting in the work, consistently over time and completing your goals, you will not see the results.

Too many times in the past, I’ve spent hours and in some cases days creating rigorous and detailed plans and systems to manage a personal task, project, or hobby. Then after a few weeks either giving up or not even starting it.

Tools and software like Notion are fantastic, and in the past few months have helped me to keep on track with what I want to achieve, but if we don’t take action and continue to progress, taking little steps each and every day, we will not meet our goals.

Tools like this can help, but the real work is up to you. Notion and other apps like it can be brilliant for helping you to meet deadlines, reach your goals and become more productive. However, the act of doing and starting the work consistently over time will be where you find the real value.

Interested in trying it for yourself?

You can view Glenn André Viste Bøe’s template by clicking the link here and duplicating it to your Notion account, and hopefully, like me, it can get you back on track and start hitting your goals each and every week.

There are a number of fantastic Notion templates out there to help you to become more productive and reach your goals, if you are interested in any other Notion templates I have been using, keep an eye out for future articles which will cover a number of other fantastic templates, you can use for free.

success
18

About the Creator

Matthew Kennedy

Focused around Video, Storytelling, Digital Marketing, Writing, Reading and Gaming, focused around helping you to grow. Father and Lover of video games, marketing, films and vinyl's.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.