Motivation logo

How I Overcame My Fear Of Public Speaking

Public speaking can be a terrifying feat. Many people have difficulty tuning out the hundreds, if not thousands of thoughts that flood their mind when they’re preparing to speak in front of a group. There are many tips and tricks available to help you overcome your fear of public speaking and deliver an amazing speech.

By Ayesha AmjadPublished 2 years ago 3 min read
Like
How I Overcame My Fear Of Public Speaking
Photo by Tonik on Unsplash

A little about me

Hello, my name is Jill and I am a former professional public speaker. For years, I was paid to give speeches and workshops on various topics. But about 10 years ago, something happened that changed all of that.

I started to experience extreme anxiety whenever I had to speak in front of a group. My heart would race, my palms would sweat, and I would get so nervous that I would sometimes even shake. As you can imagine, this made public speaking quite difficult!

But I’m happy to report that I have since overcome my fear of public speaking. In this blog post, I’ll share with you some of the things that helped me to do this.

I hope that by sharing my story, I can help others who may be struggling with the same thing. Thank you for reading!

How I get over my fear of public speaking

I’m not going to lie, public speaking is definitely one of my least favorite things to do. I get anxious thinking about having to stand in front of a group of people and talk. And if it’s something that I’m not particularly passionate about, it’s even worse. But I’ve found that there are a few things that can help me get over my fear and actually enjoy public speaking.

First, I make sure that I’m well-prepared. This means having a clear understanding of what I’m going to be talking about and being confident in my knowledge on the subject. If I know my material inside and out, it’ll be much easier to speak about it confidently.

Second, I try to focus on connecting with my audience. This means making eye contact, smiling, and speaking in a way that sounds natural and conversational. If I can connect with the people in the room, it’ll help me feel more comfortable and less nervous.

Finally, I remind myself that everyone gets nervous when speaking in public. Even the most experienced speakers still get butterflies before taking the stage. So if I can just relax and breathe, I’ll be able to get through it and maybe even

The benefits of public speaking

When it comes to public speaking, there are a lot of people who are afraid of it. I would get so nervous before a presentation that I would shake, sweat, and sometimes even vomit. But I overcame my fear and now I actually enjoy public speaking.

There are a few reasons why I decided to face my fear head on. For one, I realized that the more I avoided public speaking, the more my fear grew. It was like a phobia that was getting worse and worse the more I tried to avoid it. Secondly, I realized that avoidance was not going to help me in my career.

So I decided to take some small steps to slowly ease myself into public speaking. I started by practicing in front of family and friends, then moved on to giving presentations at work. And finally, I started taking on speaking engagements outside of work.

It wasn’t easy, but slowly but surely my fear began to dissipate. And as my confidence grew, I found that I actually enjoyed public speaking. It’s a great way to connect with people and share your ideas.

If you’re afraid of public

TIPS FOR FACING YOUR FEAR:

If you’re like most people, the thought of giving a speech in front of an audience is enough to make your heart race and your palms sweat. But there’s no need to let your fear of public speaking get the best of you. With a little preparation and practice, you can learn to control your nerves and deliver a great speech.

Some Tips Are Given Below:

1. Understand your fear. Ask yourself what it is about public speaking that makes you so anxious. Is it the fear of being judged? The fear of making a mistake? Once you understand what is causing your fear, you can start to work on addressing it.

2. Prepare, prepare, prepare. The more prepared you are for your speech, the less anxious you will be. Write out your speech and practice it until you have it memorized. If possible, try to find a place where you can practice speaking in front of an audience before your big day.


3.Visualize success. Picture yourself giving a great speech and receiving positive feedback from the audience. Visualizing yourself succeeding will help boost your confidence on the day of your speech.

3. Take deep breaths.


advice
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.