Motivation logo

How I Completely Changed My Life in a Year and How YOU Can?

The most Practical advice on the internet for self-help

By Sabya SachiPublished 3 years ago 5 min read
Like
How I Completely Changed My Life in a Year and How YOU Can?
Photo by Xan Griffin on Unsplash

My life fell into a million tiny pieces. There were cries for help that nobody answered. It was a dark time.

I had left a business behind that I loved like a child. My family relationships were a mess. My financial situation was a disaster. I couldn’t even look at myself in the mirror I was so ashamed.

Anybody who was good in my life had departed. The loneliness was crippling. Worst of all, I had found out earlier that there was a mental illness invading my brain; it was warping my thoughts and making the world look like a horror movie with real-life zombies in the streets.

Then everything changed. What caused it? I finally had enough. “No more. That’s it. I’m done.”

The pain was simply too great. Ignoring the problems and living in ignorant bliss was something I wasn’t prepared to do anymore. I began searching for answers that led me down a strange path to something far more beautiful than I could imagine.

Below are the thirteen ways you can turn your life around.

Let it all fall apart.

By Delano Ramdas on Unsplash

Denial is the enemy of reinvention.

My whole life was a lie. The solution was to stop pretending and start admitting. And then to ask myself one question: “What are you going to do about it?”

Playing spot the negative is easy. Critics do that all day for free.

So I admitted to myself what was going on and how I felt. It wasn’t in one triumphant moment like a Disney movie would portray. It happened over several months.

When the truth was obvious, I let everything fall apart. My romantic relationships, business ventures, lifelong friends, hobbies — all fell apart over a short period of time.

When things fell apart, only then did it become possible to rebuild my life from scratch again using a blank canvas.

Say yes when you’re not ready.

By Julian Lozano on Unsplash

Work became complicated when a colleague asked me to look after a client. They were a billion-dollar tech company and I was a call center worker that dealt with small business clients who were likely to be out of business in the first few years.

Even though I wasn’t ready, I said yes. It was a critical turning point.

I invested every waking moment in trying to help this customer with whatever they needed. Stupidly, during winter, I got a really bad dose of the flu which left me bed-ridden. My passion for the customer was so ridiculous that I left home at 4 AM in the morning and arrived at work just before 5 AM.

I sat at my desk until 7:30 AM and completed all the manual application work the customer required. As I walked to the lift to leave before anybody saw me, I bumped into a group of my colleagues. They saw that I was deathly sick and asked me where I was going. “On my way home. I’m not feeling well.”

The customer ended up seeing what time I had actioned their requests, knowing I was away sick. The story became famous amongst my co-workers and led me down a career path towards technology.

While working yourself into the ground is a stupid idea, showing that you care is definitely not.

Take hurt and turn it into unconventional motivation.

I was hurting from so many self-inflicted wounds caused by selfishness.

My drive to make millions of dollars and buy flashy junk caused everybody to run in the opposite direction. That rejection hurt immensely.

I ended up listening to an audiotape called “Get The Edge” and reading “Think And Grow Rich.” These resources taught me to take all the pain and turn it into unconventional motivation that might reshape my life. The goal was to create an empowering meaning from the devastation of the past.

“If I had to find one good thing about this, what would it be?” became the question that drove me. Those highlights became the motivation. The motivation caused me to do the following:

Rejoin the gym and get in shape.

Ask a woman out on a date.

Attend job interviews to further my career.

Start writing on a random blog.

Do the unthinkable.

What is the unthinkable?

Give when you have nothing, so that you will give when you have something.

My mindset changed slightly. Instead of hoarding my ideas and contacts, I started sharing them. I stopped trying to guard what I had and instead opened the door for people to come in and help themselves, thus helping me.

People would email me and ask for a phone number or a contact that I had. I would give it to them and not think twice. My aim, although I didn’t realize it, was to be helpful.

Helpfulness disguised the former selfishness that was holding me back.

Final Thought —

Chase moments that send chills down your spine.

To end, I want to share with you one final thought.

Moments that send chills down your spine are glimpses into where you can take your life. Those moments are usually when you witness passion or love. These moments are what remind you of your human roots.

Moments of passion show you what you have the capacity to do. Moments of love show you what matters and what doesn’t. Use Youtube to find these moments and be inspired. Take these moments and replicate them in your habits and daily work.

Getting chills down your spine is a compass for life. Follow it.

advice
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.