Motivation logo

Hollywood’s fastest rising star Actor & Director Romario Facey

Hollywood’s fastest rising star Actor & Director Romario Facey

By Jason James Published 3 years ago 4 min read
1

What’s your name and where are you from? Also tell us a little about your background?

My name is Ramario Facey. I was born in Linstead, a small town in St. Catherine, Jamaica. I have always wanted to be an actor, but where I grew up acting was considered an impossible task. At twelve years old, all my of cousins would say that they wanted to be soldiers or police officers, however when when my mother asked what I wanted to be I told her that I wanted to be an actor, and not just any actor but a Hollywood star and she got very upset because she was like, “You live in Jamaica, we live in a small country part of Jamaica to be exact.” So she thought it was an unrealistic dream and to her it seemed as though I was just trying to be an idler and using this as an excuse to waste time. She got really upset about it and I just couldn't let it go because something inside of me knew that that's what I wanted to do and that's what I was going to do because it was my passion.

As years progressed it became even more unrealistic to more people. As I got older my mother and family members would revisit the same question, “what do I want to become” and I would tell them I wanted to become an actor and a Hollywood star and they started to think that I was crazy, make fun of me, and call me insane. I knew that it was possible but I just didn't know how, but I had faith in God and I knew things would work itself out.

The way I grew up, we didn't have everything that we wanted but we had most of what we needed. My mom and step-dad tried everything to make sure that we had a roof over our head and a hot meal even if it wasn't what we really wanted at that time.

So when I was sixteen, I decided I that I wanted take a step in the direction of my career. Jamaica has a film community that has produced films like Shottas, The Harder they Come by Jimmy Cliff, and others, but not as big as American films so I wanted to make it in Hollywood no matter where you are in the world.

I didn't know exactly where to start, so I started by going to Kingston where my dad lived in search of production studios, got turned down, and sometimes my mom couldn't afford to keep funding my trips trying to make it. Then I got invited to Paul's model search in Jamaica and I didn't really want to do it because of the stigma that comes with that career, but after speaking to my aunt I decided that I was making a choice for me and I did it.

Next, I got a group of people in the community together and made my own movie. I got permission to premiere the movie at a local club and hundreds from the community came out and everyone loved it. After that, I made a deal with a company called Sun Peak Cinema and I started making stage play films and they were doing great and I was touring around the country and at that point I was known by the entire island.

In the prime of me getting booked, I started getting booked with other film companies in Jamaica and I was then invited to the World Championships of Performing Arts in Hollywood to a compete in the category of acting and modeling. While in LA for the first time, a few agents loved me and I got a deal. At this point my team returned back to Jamaica and I was working as a signed actor in Hollywood, because things were asked of me that I did not want to do, but things quickly fell apart with me and the agent and I went off on my own and started my own production company.

What makes you different as a person and as a company?

My drive, determination, ambition, and my undeniable belief and love for God, without God I wouldn't be where I am today.

My unique aim as a company is that, I try to create movies that are entertaining but that also teaches you about life. I try to make people think twice, we try to teach you a lesson and lead you in the right direction.

What do you want to accomplish in life?

I want to be as great as I can be in my craft and as a human. I've studied great people in the film industry and others, like Michael Jackson, James Brown, and even the great Steven Spielberg and other film makers. I want to portray the best films and characters that I can portray and try my best to use my work to bring joy to people and if they are in a dark place lighten their day.

Do you have a significant other or any kids?

Unspecified

d

Where do you see yourself in 5 years?

More established in my company and my acting career and doing more to make changes to make this world a better place.

What do you bring to world?

Creativity, joy through my work, and laughter.

What legacy do you want to leave behind?

I want to set an example for those that come after me to follow. A legacy of someone who treated people fair and loved everyone around him. Also a path for my family to be successful and for them to carry on the legacy I've built through future generations.

Whats your Net worth?

Romario Facey's net worth is approximately sixty-two million three-hundred thousand ($62,300,000). He accumulates his wealth from his acting career and production studio; producimg and starring in several movies which can be found on platforms such as Netflix, Hulu, Amazon, Roku TV, theater releases and much more.

Parents?

Mother Cochita Bowden and Father Christopher Facey

Siblings?

I'm the oldest of two siblings, Jumaane Douglas and Tajay Facey.

Follow Romario Facey:

@romariofacey

celebrities
1

About the Creator

Jason James

Jason James is an American journalist Andrew writer from Miami, Florida that specializes in covering the entertainment industry.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.