Motivation logo

Having a Job Does Not Mean a Person Feels Successful

A message to those who think that having a job is what gives people value.

By Diani AlvarengaPublished 2 years ago 3 min read
1
Having a Job Does Not Mean a Person Feels Successful
Photo by Clark Tibbs on Unsplash

I have heard this about many times when it comes to working. People calling other people lazy for not working. Now, look, I understand people need to have jobs because everything involves money. The issue is that people lack understanding towards people who do not work.

I myself am a college student and a student worker, and the most I work is 3 to 6 hours a week. This is because I have classes from 8 AM to 2:30 PM on 3 days of the week, and my job always ends at 3 pm, so my only availability of working are two days. The other day when I told someone I texted my supervisor that I was unable to go in for work, he told me “what is the point of applying to a job you are not going to go to.” His response truly annoyed me because he did not take the time to comprehend that my schedule is not like his. I am not saying that working 6 days a week is a bad thing; I myself have worked 6 days a week before going back to college, but it is not okay to assume that a person does not care about their life just because they do not work. You can be jobless but still find other ways to illustrate that you are doing something with your life. I was grateful to earn decent money from the jobs I worked, but I was unhappy about not focusing on my career dream, which is to be a writer. When I went back to school, I made the choice that this time I would focus more on my courses but most importantly I would focus on writing more. Some people who work do not comprehend that students without jobs, have to do a lot of thinking when doing papers. There is physical work, but there is also mental work. Mental work requires a lot of thinking and imagination. When I have to write an essay, I think about how I must word my thoughts, and that can be very complicated for me to do at times, but I always manage to finish.

I used to have two jobs just so that people would stop calling me lazy, but I realised that having money does not mean I will get the future I long for. My goal is to be a successful writer in the future, and in order for me to achieve that I need to look into programs that can help me become a great writer. Working at an assembly is not what will help me become a successful writer, it will only help me in earning money.

It is up to you to decide how you will reach your goals. Just because your pathway is different, that does not mean that you will not succeed. Of course, working is important to be able to afford things and make payments such as for rent subscriptions, or bills, but it is important to not confuse work with having a successful future. People who only worked for almost their whole life and assume that those who do not work the same way they do have no value are close minded because they fail to understand that everyone has their own unique way to achieving their dreams. If you feel like you have reached your goals, that is the only thing that matters, and you do not need money to feel successful; I say this because I felt like a failure for only working but not focusing on my writing career.

Keep this in mind: There are people who have a job but it is not what helps them become successful in their goals, therefore they decide to quit and start to focus more on things that involve their goals. The fact that it does not involve any money should not mean that they are less than those who do have money.

success
1

About the Creator

Diani Alvarenga

“I write to give myself strength. I write to be the characters that I am not. I write to explore all the things I'm afraid of.”

Note: feel free to leave tips if you liked my stories! Would be greatly appreciated!

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.