Motivation logo

Getting to know music artist Xilla

Getting to know music artist Xilla

By Jason James Published about a year ago 3 min read
Like

What's your artist name and we're are you from?

My name is Xilla. I was born in Houston, TX and was raised in the land of enchantment Albuquerque, New Mexico.

Why do you love music?

Music has always been a safe haven for me growing up. After my parents divorce I spent alot of time alone so MTV and the radio became my sitter. My older brother got me into hip-hop specifically. I was around 6 years old I remember him giving me "The Score" by The Fugees cause I was too young to listen to "Est.99" by Bone Thungs n Harmony. From there it became an obsession for me. It rewards me with the same feeling that your favorite food gives you! Now that I'm older I use it as a tool to express my art the same way as I would paint a picture.

What makes you different as a music artist?

My passion I feel is what separates me. I never feel like I'm not doing enough or I'm not moving forward in my career because I'm not in it for those reasons. Obviously I'm taking it more serious these days, but I'm in no competition with anyone. It's a hard job to do this alone from nothing. If you don't love everything about the process, than find out why and if you can't than you might be in it for the wrong reasons. I remember when I first started writing and freestyling with friends for fun. Remixing my favorite songs to make it my own is what really got me into attempting to try and write my own songs. I was like 10 years old I remember this kid on my bus re-did the lyrics to a 2pac song but he switched around some words to it and I was like "oh, I'm gonna try that out".

Where do you see yourself in 5 years?

In 5 years I'm hoping to own a recording and multi-media studio here in the state to help with troubled youth and also proved a place for young artists to flourish. I grew up in a very toxic house hold and also come from along line of addicts which helped me do better. I'm hoping I'll be a figure of inspiration to these young kids that don't have that kind of guidance. Albuquerque specifically is a rough place to grow up in. You don't have much positive influence to learn from.

What do you want to accomplish in life?

Definitely generational wealth. Using my dedication and talent to have something to pass down to my kids so they can prosper from it. I'm shooting for big things that alot of people would think is unattainable but that's what keeps me driven is the outcome! I see progression in every new track I work on as well as the reaction from the listeners reminds me im doing something right.

What do you bring to the music world?

I bring my own originality. I seek inspiration in different stuff other than music and it's always helped my process. I never go into writing with the Intention of sounding like someone but I do consider what the listeners want. Fan's love trends so I try to incorporate what they would want and what I feel will mesh right. My style really varies depending on the producer I'm working with.

What do you want to be remembered by?

To be recognized as one of the best to come out of our state. New Mexico doesn't have much of a market for music. There's hundreds of rappers but none of us have the blueprint on how to do things the right way. I want people to remember that I made a way and created a splash in the desert on my own. I'm always pushing for big things and I'm willing to hop out of my realm to attain them.

celebrities
Like

About the Creator

Jason James

Jason James is an American journalist Andrew writer from Miami, Florida that specializes in covering the entertainment industry.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

Jason James is not accepting comments at the moment

Want to show your support? Send them a one-off tip.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.