Motivation logo

Getting to know music artist Slyck TwoshadeZ aka Umreeki

Getting to know music artist Slyck TwoshadeZ aka Umreeki

By Jason James Published about a year ago 3 min read
Like

What’s your artist name and where are you from?

Slyck TwoshadeZ aka Umreeki. I was born in the US and my family moved to India when I was 4 years old. I moved back to the USA in 2016, right now I stay in Hawthorne, NJ.

Why do you love music?

I love music because of what it did for me. When I heard rap music for the first time I resonated with the rebellious nature it captured and how it was a medium for expression for a repressed being. I love how it makes me feel and how it brings people together, especially at concerts.

I also love music because of what it does to for my listeners. Getting told that my music saved someone from suicide is not insignificant and I hold that very near to my heart. Music has truly saved me and I am so grateful for that.

What makes you different as a music artist?

My music is non-political but very easy to relate to. I talk about emotions, relationships, motivation, mental health, vulnerability, being confident in your values. Anybody can relate.

I was born in the US and grew up in India. In India I was treated like an American and in America I get addressed like an Indian. I throughly enjoy introspecting and writing about this duality and narrate the pros and cons of it. My music has always had an outsiders perspective and I think that sets me apart from my contemporaries.

Where do you see yourself in 5 years?

In 5 years, I hope to have grown my startup Butter Chicken Gang large enough to bridge the gap between Hip-Hop in the US and Hip-Hop in India. I am hoping to be in a position where I am able to empower hip-hop artists in India to make the best unadulterated vernacular music and earn a comfortable livelihood out of it.

As a first step towards it I have started ‘The Butter Chicken Gang’ podcast and we wrapped up the first season and it will be available on all major streaming platforms soon.

What do you want to accomplish in life?

I want my life to be meaningful, aspire to add value to anyone who hears my music and is inspired to not give up on what their dream is. I want to bridge the gap btw Indian and American hip-hop and get Indian artists to the US and get American artists to India. Make Hip-Hop go universal.

What do you bring to the music world?

I want to bring my legacy to the music world and prove that talent cannot be hampered by borders, cultural norms, societal norms or generation gaps. I want the music world to witness the power of non-diluted hop-hop music regardless of its origins.

What do you want to be remembered by?

I want to be remembered for my contribution to the global Hip-Hop scene and hopefully be significant enough that my work gets carried on even after I am gone. I want to be remembered for putting a kid from a Delhi suburb in Madison Square Garden in New York and put an upcoming US hip-hop artist in JLN Stadium in New Delhi. I want to be remembered for being the crazy dude who genuinely believed in the power Hip-Hop and how it can change the world.

celebrities
Like

About the Creator

Jason James

Jason James is an American journalist Andrew writer from Miami, Florida that specializes in covering the entertainment industry.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.