Motivation logo

Getting to know music artist Shayan Shafi

Getting to know music artist Shayan Shafi

By Jason James Published 2 years ago 3 min read
Like

What’s your artist name?

My name is Shayan Shafi, but I go by $hay. Before I publicly started posting my music, I used to go by Pai$a; however, my nickname was always Shay. I decided to integrate my past name, Pai$a, into Shay to come up with my current artist name- $hay.

Why do you love music?

Growing up, I always had my earphones plugged in. Music is something I have been drowned in for years now, and after moving around a lot, I started meeting people who taught me the art of producing and mixing. After a couple of attempts for fun, I immediately fell in love. I see music as art and as poetry. Every song is someone’s masterpiece, emotional or not.

What makes you different as a music artist?

Every track of mine is a reflection after a personal anecdote. I thrive off of the belief that music is an art of storytelling; therefore, I truly believe my music can help people going through situations similar to ones that I went through as well. I want to make music to express my heart, and if people don't like it, then I know they are not my target audience. The people who do, always, say they love it. I want to keep representing my feelings through music and think my flows and styles are versatile enough to make it big.

Where do you see yourself in 5 years?

Honestly, I have two answers to this question. For the longest time, I saw myself as a working dentist, following my family’s business. However, I know now that music is not just a side hobby. I love music. It is my passion and my life. I not only want, but need to keep doing this, and in 5 years, want to see myself editing a track on the 40th floor in a Chicago apartment, fame or not. Of course, I will be alongside my friends who have been with me since the start.

What do you want to accomplish in life?

I have had the same mentality that I have had since a child; I want to help people. I want to make a difference in this world, and provide as much support as I can to people in need. With that, I have now come to know my way of doing that is through music. I want to make it not just for me, but for others too. I see my fans as friends, because if they relate to the same pain that I went through, then I automatically like them.

What do you bring to the music world?

That's the thing, y’all ain’t ready! My music is about to shock the world. I am going to change the game up. I listen to all types of music, therefore I am versatile. My next album is going to great example of what I am trying to say (keep a lookout for it at the end of this month!). Not only do I see my flows and lyricism as a key factor in my music, but all of my emotions throughout the track are also real, and are my responses to situational occurrences. I am different. That’s all you need to hear.

What do you want to be remembered by?

Simple. I want to be remembered as Shay. I want to be remembered as the artist that cared for his fans, had the best concerts, and made dope music. I want to be known as the “you sound like Shay”. I want to be known as the rapper from Pakistan because my home country needs some good in nowadays media. So, I want to be remembered as Shay, because that's who I am, and although I get influenced by other artists, I am my own musician. As I said before, I am different.

celebrities
Like

About the Creator

Jason James

Jason James is an American journalist Andrew writer from Miami, Florida that specializes in covering the entertainment industry.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.