Motivation logo

Getting to know music artist MOC

Getting to know music artist MOC

By anthony rhynePublished about a year ago 3 min read
Like

What’s your artist name and where are you from?

I go by the name MOC, with the letters pronounced individually rather than as a collective. I am originally from Tallahassee, Florida, although I currently stay in Washington, D.C, attending Howard University.

Why do you love music?

Since birth, music has played a huge role in my life. At first, it was from the perspective of a deep admirer and genuine enjoyer of the craft. However, once quarantine hit, I transitioned from an avid enjoyer of the artform, to a consistently working musician. Largely thanks to my music making brother as well, Donnie Letterman. He helped me to develop an intense passion for the subject, and I have only grown as an artist ever since. I really love music!

What makes you different as a music artist?

I do not make music because I want to. I make music to survive. This may sound like some sort of exaggeration, but I am dead serious. These past five months, I have not been able to be in a professional recording studio. So, to pass time I would just constantly write. But it got to the point where it became literal torture. I had all of these beautifully constructed melodies and vocal arrangements, but no way to actually manifest them into this realm, largely due to funds. Now I could have, but that would have been selfishly stupid. Stupid because I would not be sticking to my divinely crafted artistic guideline. Selfish because If I know that throughout my career I will literally save millions of lives, then I must abandon what would benefit me only and instead prioritize the greater good of humanity. It is through this ability to persevere and surpass these intense withdrawals that the factors of self-discipline and determination are highlighted. Off that fact alone, I stand out from the rest in an undoubtedly recognizable manner.

Where do you see yourself in 5 years?

In five years, I see myself as a very successful musician with at least two major projects under my belt. I may not be the richest or most famous, but I will undoubtedly be making a living off my music and other business ventures. I will have more than enough to fund my artistic visions, with no amount of money stopping me from creating the best piece of art possible.

What do you want to accomplish in life?

In life, I want to accomplish immense change. I hesitate to say I want to be the “best” artist of my generation, but I do want to be a generational artist. I want to leave an impact, and be the artist kids and adults alike resort to when they’re feeling happy, excited, motivated, sad, depressed, or literally any other emotional feeling. I want my catalog to inspire and invoke change within.

What do you bring to the music world?

I bring longevity into the music world. Most importantly, I bring authenticity and love back into Hip-Hop. In a genre so oversaturated with fast-food music, the very singles I release at this moment are distributed knowing they will be foundational staples in my career and heavily impactful mixtapes, eps, and albums. Nothing I do is by accident, and if it is, then it was meant to happen.

What do you want to be remembered by?

I would like to be remembered for my impact. Music aside, if I leave this Earth knowing I literally saved people's lives, helped them grow closer to God, or even reconcile old friendships and family matters, then I will depart from this realm a happy man.

celebrities
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.