Motivation logo

Getting to know music artist MeatSpady

Getting to know music artist MeatSpady

By Jason James Published about a year ago 3 min read
1

What’s your name and where are you from?

My artist name is MeatSpady. It is derived of my actual birth name Demetrius Spady-McBride. I am from Philadelphia Pennsylvania. North Philly if we are being exact.

Why do you love music?

I love music because it allows people to express their emotions and vulnerabilities to a variety of people from different cultures around the world. Besides food, and tragedy, I think it’s one of the only things that can bring us together as human beings. It’s the best forms of connectivity that we all share in common. Music gives us the opportunity to inspire, inform, and identify on many levels through the single action of just listening.

What makes you different as a music artist?

What makes me different as a music artist is that I’m true to myself. I show up in every room as myself and I leave every room as myself. This inspires my art and it’s what gives me pride in my work. It doesn’t allow me to half ass or slack in any areas of the art form or what comes with it. It’s a different level of appreciation.

Where do you see yourself in 5 years?

I’m not really one to push the time clocks forward. I like to be present in the present. But if I had to answer, in five years I see myself being an inspiration to other independent artist all over the world. I am going to be a beacon of hope and a huge help for indie artist as far as giving them the structure to be successful in life, not just the music industry. A lot can happen in five years and I plan to take advantage of every opportunity to better my circumstances and those who are coming up after me. Building my community, building my brand, diversifying my investment portfolio and generating genuine beneficial relationships. Based on my plans, my sheer determination and drive, the next five years of my life will be a continuation of this pursuit of happiness.

What legacy do you want to leave?

I want someone to be able to say that I inspired them to be the best version of themselves. I don’t know if that will be in music, business, or life in general but that is my main goal in this world. When I am dead and gone, my legacy should be that I did for others what I did for myself or more even.

What do you bring to the music industry?

I bring authenticity, self-acceptance, creativity, wit, bars, versatility and charisma all in one. My subject matter commands the listeners attention. Some music, all you need is a moment with the listener and you gain a new supporter. That’s my music! It’s genuinely undeniable. The versatility permits me to dive into other genres and still be as effective as I am in my own. My intention was to always make it difficult for people to put me in a creative box. The best way to do that is to be a jack of all trades.

Tell us more:

I want to be remembered by my imprint. What impression did I leave on you? Big or small, did it move you? If that’s not what happened when you hear my music, see me perform, or even hear me speak verbally or reading my words then in some form I’ve failed you. Everyone that I have remembered in my lifetime has made me feel something. Be it good or bad, I left remembering them because I felt. Mediocrity doesn’t satisfy my craving to be influential. I have to be effective. It doesn’t need to be on a scale such as a Jay-Z or Kanye West. But you have to feel me and believe me when I speak these words to you. Otherwise, I should just be quiet.

celebrities
1

About the Creator

Jason James

Jason James is an American journalist Andrew writer from Miami, Florida that specializes in covering the entertainment industry.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.