Motivation logo

Getting to know music artist Hunckho Bookie

Hunckho Bookie

By Jason James Published 2 years ago 3 min read
Like

Nice to meet you sir! Can you tell us about you?

My name is Hunckho Bookie and I’m from Houston, TX – Hiram-Clake originally but I moved and lived all around Houston as a kid.

I love music because it’s the way I escape from my problems in the real world and express my inner-thoughts out loud. Being able to go into the booth and record let’s me get everything off my chest and vent. Going to the studio and recording is basically therapy for me. I grew up on all kinds of music – from jazz to pop to rap. Going into the studio and switching up my style or flow is something I do all the time. I don’t want to make the same type of music over and over.

In 5 years I see myself being successful able to help my family and everyone else around me who’s depending on me. I’m focused on the music because it’s a better way to provide for them instead of getting it out the streets. My mom and my sisters had to move all the time when I was younger, I don’t want any of my loved ones and their families to go through that ever again. I’m looking forward to having toured all over the United States and hopefully out of the country by that time. I want to have worked with the artists that inspired me growing up as well as the ones I listen to now. I also want to be one of the artists people think of when they think of Houston.

Before it’s all said and done, I want to make sure someone people remember and talk about for years and years down the line – not an artist that’s just hot for the moment. I don’t mind taking the longer route to get known if that’s what it takes to be an artist that lasts. I’m not worried about blowing up overnight because those same kinda artists disappear just as fast. Another thing I want to have done by the end is to build generational wealth for my loved ones so they and their families don’t have to live through and experience the struggles I/we did.

I feel like my music is normal, realistic & relatable. I don’t just speak on materialistic things that normal people can’t afford. I speak for the ones who aren’t able to keep up with trends because they’re dealing with poverty, street violence, heartbreaks and things like that – not just fast cars & big chains. I’m not only rapping about the things I’ve got since I started rapping and the things I want to get eventually – the hard times are just as important as the good times. I like what I went through. I like how I was raised. I like everything about how I grew up, hard or not. I would change nothing. Not one fight, not one scratch, not one bruise. Because that’s what made me who I am today. I make memory music – it tends to make you think about the good times but also the bad times. I’m trying to take them all down memory lane.

I want to be remembered by the person I’m growing into, not the person I was when I did what was necessary to get by – decisions that may have been judged by other people. The circumstances I grew up in didn’t leave many other options. As I grow and learn, I’m becoming a better version of myself – a better person. Making mistakes or wrong decisions is part of being human – you either keep doing the same thing or you learn for the better. I’m trying to be better and better each day in everything I do so who I am by the end of this journey is how I want to be remembered.

celebrities
Like

About the Creator

Jason James

Jason James is an American journalist Andrew writer from Miami, Florida that specializes in covering the entertainment industry.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.