Motivation logo

Getting Rid of the "New Year, New Me" Mantra

Leaving the fake-positivity behind and putting new quotes in its place.

By KBPublished 2 years ago 3 min read
Top Story - January 2022
10
Getting Rid of the "New Year, New Me" Mantra
Photo by Rebecca on Unsplash

“New Year, New Me”

I’m tired of the marketing target placed on the new year. The tummy-tea, the new diets, and the constant comparison to others, especially at this time of year. Because of this overwhelming fake-positivity, I have recently retired from the idea of a typical “new year’s resolution” because if there is any time to start doing something I want, it’s now. At any point in the year, if I want to start something new, I should.

On top of that, I should be someone who strives to be my best every day, not only when it’s convenient to do so.

So instead, I turn my New Year’s Day into a time for reflection of the past year and noticing the things I would like to continue doing or throw away. What brought me the most joy? What brought me the most stress? How have I been taking care of myself? Mentally? Physically?

A reflection evokes more thought and understanding than an empty phrase such as, “I’m going to cut out all carbs,” because really, is that sustainable? Enjoyable? Healthy for my lifestyle?

I propose these questions to myself as a way of inspiring myself to push further and to see the joy in the past year, rather than holding onto some future goal that is unattainable. I put the power into my own hands. I can then make tangible and consistent choices that get me to where I want to be.

When I was going through this process on New Year’s Day, I noticed something different than in the past year. I obtained the ability to say “no” and put myself first. I put my mental health first by allowing myself the time to be alone. This isn’t how everyone thrives, but for me, taking long walks and spending time reading is saying yes to myself, my relaxation, and my well-being. This is something I wrote in my journal that I want to continue doing and practicing in the new year; as the world gets jump-started again, it will be more difficult to take this time.

Although there are many ploys for consumerism as the new year begins, there are still positive quotes to mark the movement of this time.

Here are some that align with these ideas:

“I hope you realize that every day is a fresh start for you. That every sunrise is a new chapter in your life waiting to be written.” -Juansen Dizon, Confessions of a Wallflower

“Do not wait until the conditions are perfect to begin. Beginning makes the conditions perfect.” -Alan Cohen

"Life's not about expecting, hoping and wishing, it's about doing, being and becoming." -Mike Dooley

“The foundation of greatness is honoring the small things of the present moment, instead of pursuing the idea of greatness.” - Eckhart Tolle

“I hope that in this year to come, you make mistakes. Because if you are making mistakes, then you are making new things, trying new things, learning, living, pushing yourself, changing yourself, changing your world. You’re doing things you’ve never done before, and more importantly, you’re doing something.” -Neil Gaiman

“At some point you just have to let go of what you thought should happen and live in what is happening.” -Heather Hepler

“I am grateful for what I am and have. My thanksgiving is perpetual” -Henry David Thoreau

“This life is mine alone. So I have stopped asking people for directions to places they’ve never been.” -Glennon Doyle

“...that in moments like this, it doesn’t matter what you were born to be. It matters what you choose to become.” -Kristin Harmel

"Wherever you are, at any moment, try and find something beautiful. A face, a line out of a poem, the clouds out of a window, some graffiti, a wind farm. Beauty cleans the mind." -Matt Haig

advice
10

About the Creator

KB

A snippet of life. Some real, some not. Thanks for reading!

https://vocal.media/vocal-plus?via=kb

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.