Motivation logo

Getting out of your comfort zone to achieve what you want

Getting out of the planning stage and into action

By Kat PondPublished 3 years ago 3 min read
Like

I’ve been there. You have an idea, it’s a wonderful idea. Do you have every little detail planned out? No. Do you understand the concept so well that you KNOW you can do it you just haven’t for whatever reason? Yes. So how do you change from the planning stage and start actually doing it: especially when you’re terrified of everything going unbelievably wrong?

The answer: even if you don’t feel “ready” enough, do it anyway. If you are comfortable with doing so, share it with the world. If not, just do it for yourself, for some practice. Now I get it, “just do it” is almost always easier said than done. Here’s the thing though, if you don’t at least TRY to do it then you’ll never know where you’re doing something wrong or if there’s something you need to learn first before you can finish doing it.

You don’t have to jump in both feet first. A bit of caution and deliberate work is perfectly fine, and so is diving in with wild abandon (to an extent). By the latter, I mean going all in with the work and free creation of your idea, don’t go spend all your money on a half baked concept before you really think about it. The point of this article is to help the former people, the people who are cautious and nervous about actually getting started. Then again if you’re the type to jump the gun and go in head first then you probably won’t be reading this.

Say you want to be a writer. And aside, my personal predicament: I don’t like dealing with people. It stresses me out and with the exception of hanging out with friends and family I would be perfectly happy not dealing with people face to face for the rest of my life. I also used to be a voracious bibliophile, and would write short stories and poems all the time. So my solution: become a writer, share my work with the world and get paid to do something I enjoy while meeting my minimal social needs.

I must note: no I didn’t quit any job to go write. I still have a day job and I’m still going to do what I need to to pay the bills. But my goal is to one day make more than my day job with this eventually so this CAN be my profession. If you have similar aspirations then it is recommended you do the same. If you have something you want to become full time income, start it as a side project or job. Learn, grow, refine your process. Then once you’re doing it successfully, and have an established safety net, go all in. Even if it’s scary you can do it.

For me, this is actually almost terrifying. I don’t know how to write a full length novel. I don’t know how to write blog posts, or articles. But here you are. You, my dear reader, are sitting there on your phone or computer reading these words. You are there taking in my work because I put it out there. Do I have my own blog website that I can monetize and make a living from yet? No. But I’m here on Vocal, practicing my writing, working on my style so I can do what I want to do even though I’m honestly quite nervous about it.

This can be applied to more than just creating, say you want to start going to the gym but you’re too self conscious. Hey, no judgment here, I still don’t know what I’m doing. I go anyway and just pretend I know what I’m doing. I do stick to machines and exercises I know and are comfortable with. But as far as any routine goes, I’m winging it. And if you need to go online and learn how to do the exercises first then by all means do so, do what you need to to minimize chance of injury. But you still have to go do something.

It’s okay to be nervous or scared. Just because you feel like you’re not ready to do something exciting yet out of your comfort zone doesn’t mean you can’t do it. Just practice. Start doing it and figure out what it is you need to do so you can go for your dreams. It doesn’t have to be perfect. You just have to try. And if you’re reading these words now, just know I believe in you. You are a wonderful person capable of great things. I look forward to seeing your work out in the world one day!

advice
Like

About the Creator

Kat Pond

Aspiring to be everything at once: a spy, assassin, scientist, dragon, a hermit. With the limits of physical reality I can always be all these things in dreams and stories.

Instagram: @castrophia_dragonwitch

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.