Motivation logo

Get to know Vamsi Kalakuntla

Get to know Vamsi Kalakuntla

By anthony rhynePublished about a year ago 3 min read
Like

What’s your name and where are you from?

I am Vamsi Kalakuntla and I am from Hyderabad, India and currently based in Dallas,TX.

Why do you love music?

I have loved music since my childhood and I was passionate about it ever since. The music from Indian films and radio had a huge influence on my music and that inspired my love for this art. That love for music has helped me to get trained in Carnatic music at a summer camp in Hyderabad. In 2013, I was introduced to Indian Music composer Ajay Patnaik. The meeting helped me to work for him for a brief period and sharpened my songwriting and composing skillset.

After moving to the US I started working for an NPR radio station for 2 years that experience has helped me move closer to the music scene here in the United States. Also in the year 2019, I ended up meeting my current Co songwriter and producer Jonathan Camacho, and working with him has also leveled up my skill set toward the art of songwriting composition, singing and Djing

What makes you unique?

My music is unique because of my western music influences like Drake, The Weeknd Chris Brown, and many more and I believe in blending those influences with Indian music influences like AR Rahman, Harris Jayraj, Ilayaraja, SPB, and many more. This helps me bring in a new Synergy of Music which has a blend of both Western and Indian music. That leads to my recent release Feelings. It is a Telugu lofi pop single and is a perfect blend of melodic beats and emotional lyrics that capture the essence of human feelings. It's an introspective track that showcases my ability to evoke deep emotions through this single. The song takes the listener on a journey through the ups and downs of life, exploring themes of love, heartbreak, and hope. With over 5.1 Million streams on YT and trending over multiple platforms, Feelings is my current fan favorite. Also, my pop release "My Love" which was released in early July 2021 was an instant hit. Additionally, my music was featured in multiple editorials on various platforms over the years.

Where do you see yourself in 5 years?

In the next 5 years I want to work with multiple Global artists also work with artists in multiple genres. The main aim here is to introduce Telugu music to Global audiences. Also, I believe in bringing new sounds and genres to Telugu music which can appeal to the listeners and also be part of the culture. Maybe even when a Grammy.

My ultimate goal in life is to create music that inspires and touches people and be someone who can bring in a new perspective to the culture and the scene. Winning a Grammy is also one of my main goals in life. Also, provide music for multiple film franchises, work with top songwriters, and artists the list goes on.

What do you bring to the music world?

To the music world, I bring in a blend of Telugu and English verses, showcasing my cultural roots while appealing to a broader audience. A combination of Western and Indian influences, Helps me stand out from other artists in the scene.. This diversity in his music sets him apart and helps him to reach a wider audience.

What type of legacy do you want to leave behind?

In terms of his legacy, I want to be remembered as a musician who brought recognition to Telugu pop/independent music and showcased the versatility of the language to the world. Also, I want to be remembered as an artist who used music as a platform to bring people together and spread joy and positivity. Through my music, I aspire to inspire others to follow their passion and create their own unique sounds.

celebrities
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.