Motivation logo

Get to know DLobs

Get to know DLobs

By anthony rhynePublished about a year ago 3 min read
Like

What’s your artist name and where are you  from?

My artist name is DLobs. It’s a mixture of the first letter of name - D, and the first part of my last name - Lobs. I am representing the 401 hailing from Providence, Rhode Island, the smallest state in the country.

Why do you love music? 

I love music because it can be a way to escape. Music is universal, it can be created from anywhere and loved from all around the world. Music has also been my personal escape. I use the creation of music along with just listening as a way to cope with my problems. Whenever I create music, I am very open with the listener, and can at times use it as a way to just get things off my mind. I show my emotions and feelings by expressing it through my music.

 What makes you different as a music artist?

The substance of music. As stated before, I express my emotions through my music. From the beat selection, to the lyrical prowess, to the delivery of them. Creating music has saved me mentally many times. Whatever emotion or feelings I am feeling when cultivating my music, I incorporate into my lyrics. I am also a very diverse artist, not only sticking to one genre. I have grown greatly over the years as an artist. I first started making music solely as a fun hobby. I then realized how music could be used to express yourself or even cope with life. From there I started studying Rakim, Andre 3k, Big L, Capital STEEZ, and MF DOOM. From that initial impression, I was hooked on lyrical rap, and music with meaning. Now, I am translating from the more “boom-bap” type rap, and mixing it with beats that are popular today. Birthing bangers with bars and meaning. 

Where do you see yourself in 5 years? 

I see myself on top of the world Haha. Maybe I’ll be sipping a drink and smoking an L in dubai as a successful rapper or something like that Haha. But, no seriously, if I keep up the momentum and grind/ work ethic - in five years I should be at a point in my career where I am making most of my income from music and my brand. 

What do you want to accomplish in life?

I want to be able to live fully off my music. I don’t necessarily care about the fame, however being financially stable off my music is for-sure an achievable goal. That and creating legendary and classic music. Music that can be used to save others and music to bump when you up! I want to create a name for myself in the rap game and be able to live off my dream that I have been chasing. All I want in this life is to do what I love for a living. 

What do you bring to the music world?

I bring the realness. I represent “real rap”. I am attempting to bring back the lyrical substance and meaning back behind music. I’m not just creating music because I am looking for fame. But creating music because I am passionate about it and most importantly I love what I am doing. 

What do you want to be remembered by? 

I want to be remembered by my music and my character. Along with the amount of people that were saved by music or even took the time to listen. I make music to feel better. I’m not here to make money - I’m here to make history.

celebrities
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.