Motivation logo

From Street Food Vendor to National Ambassador

Do not let your past define your future

By Joseph MirandaPublished 5 years ago 2 min read
Like
DO NOT LET YOUR PAST DEFINE YOUR FUTURE (BE INSPIRED)

Have you ever been judged by people because of your past? Do you feel condemned or guilty because of the mistakes you've made? If so, this is a story for you:

My name is Joseph Miranda, I was born and raised in the Philippines but have been living in Canada for almost 11 years now. Having grown up in a third world country, I have seen and experienced poverty on a day to day basis. At the age of thirteen I began selling street food to support my parents and put food on our table. At the age of 15, my mom suffered a stroke and was struck blind for three years, so I had to be her eyes during that season of life. I was constantly worrying about how to help my dad provide for our family by feeding and caring for my mom and younger siblings. But I never lost hope. I knew better days would eventually come our way, a day where we would come home from a long day and have food on the table to eat. We were looked down upon by so many; because of our financial situation, they would constantly remind us that our lives would never change. But I did not let those voices define my future. I stayed focused on working hard to sell street food after school, along with borrowing classmates' textbooks in order to finish my homework, then return home to care for my mom and younger siblings. I would constantly encourage my family that one day we would live in Canada.

Once 2009 came around, my silly comments about a better life came to pass and we migrated to Canada through the Provincial Nominee Program. After walking off that airplane and stepping foot in Canada, all we had was our luggage and our dreams. I was determined to not waste a moment of my time in Canada and began applying for jobs the next day, I wanted to see my family free of hunger and inspired to work hard themselves in this new land of opportunity. I found two jobs after being in Canada for 24 hours, working 16 hours a day, as a healthcare aid in the morning and janitor at night. I was determined to not let poverty, past experiences or other people's voices define who I am.

Now, I am a pastor, influencer, vlogger, motivational speaker, mentor and youth ambassador to so many young people striving to achieve their dreams. Do not let anyone disqualify you or your dreams. Because your DARKEST HISTORY CAN ACTUALLY BE YOUR GREATEST TESTIMONY!

success
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.