Motivation logo

From grass to grace.

Life changes.

By Olalekan AdeekoPublished 3 years ago 3 min read
1

As i kid, I have always wondered and thought about the meaning of the above saying. I sit and I ponder to understand what it really means when you talk about going from "grass to grace", this, however, does not make any sense to me and that's because I guess my brain wasn't ready to understand and decipher what the saying really meant.

Gradually I grew into knowledge and understanding, then I came across this saying again, from "grass to grace". At this time I have taken some courses on idiomatic expressions and meanings, but then this particular saying hasn't revealed itself at that time of the study. I sit patiently on the left arm of our couch and I took out my pencil and paper to analyze the meaning of the saying, remember I already knew it is an idiomatic expression and nothing more or short of that.

Right there while I was dissecting and analyzing, I took good cognizance of the word "grass" and "grace" I knew one pretty well and the other I know it was an abstract element, one which you can't feel or touch. I was able to deduce quickly the meaning of "grace" due to the popular chant in my local fellowship assembly.

In my fellowship, grace is being spoken of and prayed about. Then I concluded if the grass was low and on the ground and at my fellowship we look up for grace then it means grace is higher.

Knowing this helped to fit into some situations and challenges that happen in life and since then I have been able to confidently relate the saying to happenings.

Fast forward to this month I experienced the saying for myself. It has been a long I have since wanted to move from the present stage I was in life to a better one. I have tried all I could over the years and it seemed as if all wasn't going to change for the better. I put in the hard and smart work, paid my dues, and still, things looked as if it wasn't going to be okay.

I kept on with the dream alive, I decided not to give up and I daily say to myself, I will move from grass to grace someday.

It happened just a few weeks ago when I got the reality of and to my dreams. The lowly down man has now risen ten times than I was before, now I get calls from people always wanting to congratulate and celebrate me for where I am now. It has been a dream come true ever since and also the saying has become more real and evident to me. Now I know there is something called from grass to grace, meaning from a low point or level in life to a higher level. This isn't just customized for some things but they cut across all general things and aspects of life.

It is possible to move from grass to grace.

The saying however can be used, either way, there is the positive side and also the negative, so apparently, there are two sides to that saying.

I have chosen to stick with the positive side and I believe you also can choose that.

No one has ever been denied the opportunity to manifest the positive. Never despise the day of little beginnings, see the grace right when you are in the grass.

From grass to grace, something to always embrace. Get aced up the ladder. Never look down when you are graced but always look forward and ahead.

It takes just a step.

advice
1

About the Creator

Olalekan Adeeko

Olalekan Adeeko is an author, podcaster, public speaker, and he advocates for gender equality.

He loves traveling, and meeting people.

He is the author of the best-selling book "Success is free; only if you are ready to pay the price."

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.