Motivation logo

Embracing the New

Created by:Toby Heward

By Toby HewardPublished 2 years ago 3 min read
4
The Brain is Your Machine

The challenge of starting a new life for oneself can be quite the ordeal. We

all must go through it at some point or another. The choices one must

make in order to succeed differs greatly upon the playing field they must

take up. If one wants to learn how to survive in something that they are

unfamiliar with and realize their potential, this would be my advice in three

simple steps.

First, take a look at your surroundings and find out what you can make

the most of it to your benefit. For example, when I first made to change of

going from living with my family to living on my own in order to finish my

college degree, I was lost on how to provide for myself. Upon looking closer

at what I was given, I had an opportunity. Many people around were in

need of help with school and didn't have the time to prepare meals or study

as long as they wanted. Seeing this opportunity, I took the initiative to help

them as well as help myself.

Asking those around me, I got a sense of what people where going through

and how I could make it easier for them and myself in the long run. This in

turn helped me to gain relationships with those around me, provide for my

needs like studying time and food procurement, and it gave me a sense of

business and how to reach greater heights. Symbioses is one of natures

greatest achievements, and it has helped many to thrive in this world, so

using that to ones advantage shouldn't be all that surprising.

Next, look to the future and imagine what you could be if you put the effort

into something. There are a great deal of people out there that have big

dreams that they would love to see accomplished, but don't due to the

negativity of the worlds reality pulling them down. One should not be

brought down by this and instead try to defy the impossible. Everyone

thought that Thomas Edison was crazy to be able to create a light source

that didn't run on gas, but through his perseverance and creativity, he

made it a reality.

The world is only as big as the sketchbook you write it on, and if you run

out of paper or the paper is too small, just get a bigger piece of paper and

keep moving forward. Nothing should stop you from realizing what you

have to offer for the world for nothing in this world has no merit to be

achieved. People every day are finding new ways to progress in this world,

and those people are the ones who don't give up even if they fail a thousand

times. With each failure comes something to gain, a lesson is learned that

can improve whatever comes next and will till the goal is achieved.

Lastly, take things in small increments. Don't be in such a rush that you

forget what the previous two steps are. In the story of the tortoise and the

hare, he who was patient and took the long but steady path eventually won

the race. I'm not saying that everything has to be done that way, but it is a

easy and simple start to something that could eventually take up speed and

grow into something grand.

If it's hard to understand something, take longer to study it. During my

time as a child, I was always in a rush to get things done. As I grew older

and looked at things a little slower, there were things that I realized I was

passing up because I was so focused on the here and now that I didn't

notice what was at the end. Everyone has the opportunity to embrace the

new and bring forth endless possibilities, but the one who must make the

choice to realize that future is you, and you alone.

advice
4

About the Creator

Toby Heward

Creativity is boundless. We are gardeners that bring forth these fruits of wonder. Nature is my passion and I love to help readers see the stories with their own eyes through my works. Whether its poems, fact, or fiction I bring it to life.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Test3 months ago

    Awesome story,

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.