Motivation logo

Dsmoovee Shabazz

Influencer

By Tammy ReesePublished 4 years ago 4 min read
1
Dsmoovee Shabazz (Photo Credit:@tikaboo)

Dsmoovee Shabazz is a influencer from St.Louis, MO with over 10,000 followers. He is a radio personality, father, entrepreneur; with his own clothing line. Also a community advocate/activist, motivational speaker, public speaker, mentor, emcee, & all around leader.

Vocal readers please enjoy our interview!

Tammy Reese:

What inspired you to become a radio personality?

Dsmoovee Shabazz:

I’m a people’s person and a Entertainer. I saw myself using my voice to inspire the world. I want to accomplish this on a world-wide scale, so I began to take radio seriously.

Tammy Reese:

How did you transition in activism?

Dsmoovee Shabazz:

Simple El Hajj Malik El Shabazz, most of you know him as Malcolm X. I watched his movie and read his book cover to cover. It was my awakening of my mind first. Then I realized my purpose in this world. I began to walk down the same road as Brother Malcolm literally and lead in his path ever since.

Tammy Reese:

Please tell us about your clothing line?

Dsmoovee Shabazz:

The Smoothest is an extension of me, I’m making sure people not only see me as an Entertainer but as someone with fashion sense. I love dressing and looking my best. So I had to create that look for the people that see me and always compliment me. It’s high fashion hoodies, mac jackets, bomber jackets, jumpsuits and much more that’ll make you feel like the flyest in the room.

Tammy Reese:

What's the best part about all the work you do?

Dsmoovee Shabazz:

The people and the change I see in my community. Also the smiles I put on people’s faces, the hope I’m giving my community, and all the intangibles that you cannot see. I live to uplift people’s spirits, and the legacy I’ll leave behind will be amazing. It's always impact over income.

Dsmoovee Shabazz (Photo Credit: @tikaboo )

Tammy Reese:

What are some obstacles you have faced as a black entrepreneur?

Dsmoovee Shabazz:

Uncertainty being conditioned to work for someone all my life literally had me frightened to even take the leap to believe in myself. Also not to mention the comfort of getting paid bi-weekly to not being able to know if I’ll have enough to live the next week.

Tammy Reese:

What is your stance on the black lives matter movement?

Dsmoovee Shabazz:

I personally don’t scream or post it because I find it a problem that humanity has to clarify that any lives matter, that’s the concern that we aren’t looked at as humans. I’m about the liberation of my people economically, financially, and politically. For Afro-American people to realize the power that we have as a people that’s what I’ll be instrumental in.

Tammy Reese:

How did Chadwick Boseman make an impact on you and black culture?

Dsmoovee Shabazz:

I’m an aspiring actor, to see a Black man play so many of our heroes was so inspiring. Chadwick’s success was due to his work ethic and I feel like that’s what he left us with. We do the work to be a successful and the legacy will follow. That’s what Chadwick is to our culture, he showed that Black is beautiful, revolutionary and we are to be celebrated.

Tammy Reese:

How has the pandemic shaped your day to day life?

Dsmoovee Shabazz:

Believe it or not it put me in a better position to get to know myself, to plan my success and act on it. I quit my 9-5 and became who Allah has designed me to be. I found my purpose when people sank because of the pandemic. I rose above my situations to help pull them back up, to offer them resources and a voice of hope.

Tammy Reese:

What are some memorable moments in your career so far?

Dsmoovee Shabazz:

The week of the George Floyd killing I spoke in front of thousands of people for the first time. To receive the love and acknowledgement that I did, I was on cloud 9 .

Tammy Reese:

What are you currently working on?

Dsmoovee Shabazz:

Currently I’m working on my community in St.Louis, my hometown. I’m apart of a Cure Violence Initiative & Gun De-Escalation Fathers & Family Support Center and other local organizations that are doing incredible work. It’s in my heart, so keep your eyes on me. I’m in love with the work so the change will come, believe that!

Tammy Reese:

What are you looking forward to?

Dsmoovee Shabazz:

I am looking forward to seeing the growth of my daughter Daya Amiyah Jackson, and my growth to be the greatest change agent this world has ever seen. I believe in myself much more than anyone could ever see.

Tammy Reese:

What are some words of motivation you would leave with our readers to get through the pandemic?

Dsmoovee Shabazz:

Have peace, purpose and believe !

Dsmoovee Shabazz (Photo Credit: @tikaboo)

Connect with Dsmoovee Shabazz on Instagram

interview
1

About the Creator

Tammy Reese

Tammy is best known for her legendary interviews with Sharon Stone, Angela Bassett, Sigourney Weaver, Geena Davis, Morris Chestnut, Jeffrey Dean Morgan, Sheryl Lee Ralph, Laurence Fishburne, Omar Epps, Joseph Sikora, and more.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.