Motivation logo

Driving My Way To Freedom

With the gig economy

By Om Prakash John GilmorePublished 2 years ago 4 min read
Like
Photo by Daniel Spase

I plug in my smart phone and clip it into the little phone holder on the dash it won’t move. I have an extra charger. I plug my phone into that charger at 100% of the charge, knowing that it will be full for most of my short, 2.5 hour shift. I hit a few buttons to open the app. I check to make sure I have all I need and hit ready to accept orders. I write down my beginning mileage, and I am off soon to some restaurant to to pick up a meal for delivery.

Sometimes it gets boring, just riding around from one place to the next, but it is more frustrating than boring as I follow my GPS to various places often running up against a slow moving vehicle, or someone making a left turn from the right lane, or backing up dangerously by the side of the road with half of their tire hanging in my lane. That's the job. Trying to be patient while at the same time trying to rush is part of the job. There are many apps. There are many ways to make money using your car with Uber Eats, DoorDash, or GrubHub.

All of them have their strong and weak points. The most weak point most of the time–trouble with the app and long wait time. Let me explain what I mean by these two things. The trouble with the app happens when the GPS takes you to some place you can't recognize and you find yourself sitting in some place that's nowhere near where you're supposed to be.

The car takes you in circles instead of to the right place if you keep following the GPS and you end up, most of the time if you are smart, just getting out of the car and walking, which takes more time. It gives you some exercise, yes, but it takes more time.

It’s also easy to forget the steps you have to take on the app to make a delivery. Look at this, text or call this, swipe this, take a picture, find the right building in an apartment complex with no numbers, make sure you don’t drop the food, all of these things are just part of the job that can be both frustrating and tiring.

This doesn’t include going to the restaurant and taking a double order, or waiting 10 or 20 minutes for a meal that hasn't been prepared yet. Getting offers for new orders when you are right around the corner from dropping off the first one, or when you are in busy traffic can be very frustrating.

Sometimes the app won’t open and you can’t even see the order until it's too late, but you just keep going, trying to make enough money to pay for the time and the gas you are expending. I only do 2.5 hours most of the time, but I still end up exhausted. I don’t understand how a person can do it all day.

Why am I doing this? To get paid, of course. To make money. To invest in myself. I'm working at a flexible job where I make plenty some days and not enough some days to make up for the losses incurred because of drastically raising prices on food and electricity, gas, and every blessed thing that exists. The prices get higher. People struggle more and more. It seems no one can catch up or keep up. I'm trying to keep up. I'm also investing in Cryptocurrency.

I'm not just buying Cryptocurrency. You really don’t make much doing that at all if that’s all you do. I'm investing in a company that trades in Cryptocurrency and gives me about 3% compounded interest every week. The more I put in, the more I make. So I drive for a reason–for more than one reason.

As time goes on I'll see if I can create a large amount of passive income from driving so I don’t need to do it anymore. This is sort of a test or an experiment that I will be writing about and making YouTube videos every so often. I'll drive and see if I can turn things around. If I can I know that anyone who drives can do the same thing.

I drive from the suburbs to the ghettos and from urban centers to rural towns. As I drive I watch. Sometimes things are beautiful. There is plenty of sunshine. People are taking walks. Children are riding bicycles on the side of the road. People are walking dogs. I crank down the window and crank up my radio, and it seems that the world stands still. It seems like I am not working at all, just driving.

At other times…ugh. It’s hard to be on the road with so many people who seem to have lost their ability to drive since Covid. When you can ignore them though, it can be kind of fun. I'm choosing to have fun instead of dealing with the crazy drivers, and the most important thing is to take my time.

When one hurries they can never get there fast enough. When one relaxes, good things tend to happen. It's the same, I think, with building a passive income that will support you through the most troubling times in modern history. We will see together.

The End

Like stories like this? Become a subscriber. Follow us. Leave a tip for author to help make this writing a full time profession.

success
Like

About the Creator

Om Prakash John Gilmore

John (Om Prakash) Gilmore, is a Retired Unitarian Universalist Minister, a Licensed Massage Therapist and Reiki Master Teacher, and a student and teacher of Tai-Chi, Qigong, and Nada Yoga. Om Prakash loves reading sci-fi and fantasy.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.