Motivation logo

dreamer vs. DREAMER!

All you need is the right perspective ;)

By Mahonry FrancoPublished 3 years ago 4 min read
2

A quick thing about me will help me convey the message for today; I tend to eavesdrop on conversations I have no business being a part of. What can I say, I just love a good story! Whenever I walk to my next destination I always keep an ear out for any information I could potentially use. Not in a blackmail/gossip sort of way, but in an honest search for key phrases for me to bring up for someone else's benefit at some future time. You may think that's weird; low key I agree with you. I simply can't help it. I have found this little habit to be useful in such big ways!

Most often what I happen to hear will generally give me something to start with so that I may strike up a conversation with those specific people I heard it from. Please don't misunderstand, I'm not implying that you should invade people's privacy by finding their deep secrets. I'm trying to let you know that you should keep an ear out for personal hidden gems. If you were to look at any superhero movie you will see that power can be used for good and evil; similar to keeping an ear out. Only listen with the intent to provide value, or make connections that could open windows of opportunity for you and them (a win-win situation sort of thing). My hopes of attempting to write about this topic are to help you achieve your life dream.

This story was inspired because I listened.

Making my way up the stairs at the University of Utah's Institute building I heard the phrase "Fools Dream." From my end, there was no context so that phrase was all I was blessed with. They could have legitimately meant it on the pessimistic side of things; "Don't dream. Only fools do that." But I do not believe this was the case. The comment was happy with a humourous sarcastic tone. On the optimistic side, I believe the way this remark was made was "Follow your Dream! Be the greatest Fool of them all!"

Think about it this way: Benjamin Franklin discovered electricity. Later on, Humphry Davy invented the first electric light. Followed by various inventors who improved the idea of a lightbulb along the way, one of them being Thomas Eddison who said "I have not failed. I've just found 10,000 ways that won't work." - 10,000! Are you kidding me?! Don't you think a few critics were advising him to quit after the first 50? What about Ben Franklin? The people were contempt using candles, and all of a sudden here comes this guy saying "let's tame lighting"... (I'm paraphrasing of course).

I didn't live in those times, therefore I lack the competence to fully testify how the circumstances really were. However, I do know that candles are messy because the wax always drips on top of the birthday cake. I know the struggle of lighting a match on a windy day, I know the awesome but at the same time terrifying close experience of a huge bolt of light that comes and goes when it wants. These are things we all have experienced before.

I'm sure there were people like us back in those days dreaming of a better way; dreaming they could do something about it but didn't. These were the dreamers. These are the fools. They long for a change and they are very capable of attaining that change, but their lack of action holds them back. The truth is that this category could be you... or... you could act upon your dream. Become a "Fool" who accepts the fact that he/she is going to fail 10,000 times or more. And stand next to the DREAMERS who made a difference and are still remembered today.

A fool: Is pessimistic. Thinks he/she is wise. Scared to try. Hides behind an excuse. Sits in. Mediocre. Quits.

A Fool: Is optimistic. Recognizes he/she is not wise. Has bravery to fail. Has character to accept responsibility. Stands out. Malleable. Doesn't quit.

A dreamer: Talks a big game then sits on the bench. Isn't consistent. Has no hunger. Hopeless. Has a limit. Fears man. Quits.

A DREAMER: Talks a big game then walks the big game. Has consistency. Is always hungry. Hopefull. Is limitless. Does not fear man. Doesn't quit.

Know the difference between a fool and a Fool. A dreamer vs. a DREAMER. All you need is the right perspective ;)

advice
2

About the Creator

Mahonry Franco

Experience, learn, share, repeat. To me, Vocal is a journal to do exactly that.

Youtube Channel: Mahonry Franco

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.