Motivation logo

Don't Let Anything Stop You

Your life is only as big as your comfort zone

By AceadiaPublished 4 years ago 3 min read
Like

Your life is only as big as your comfort zone.

I am so often held back in life because I want to be comfortable. I just want to snuggle in my blankets and be a happy little safe bitch. 

But I'm sure we've all felt the negative effects of that. Wanting to do more with your life but being scared to do so. Missing out on opportunities or relationships. Feeling unfulfilled inside because you're not doing what's meaningful to your soul. You're not growing or really doing better as a person. Feeling drained, tired, and bored. Feeling like nothing really great is going on in your life.

But when are times you've left comfort? And what outstanding beauty has been created in your life because of it?

I remember there was a moment when I realized I was so motivated to do absolutely nothing. 

What happened? I let blocks of comfort stop me everywhere in my life. Until literally, I would just do nothing. 

So this voice in my head goes, "don't let anything stop you."

Which sounds a little extreme but when your comfort-driven this really just means go do a workout. 

I was journaling reflections for 2019 and all of the sudden my energy completely shut off. I felt drained, blocked, horrible. I just wanted to go home, do nothing, and sleep. But I had committed to going to a conditioning workout in the West Loop. I used to always follow my feelings. I would justify and lie to myself that I was taking care of myself by following what I felt like doing. Until I realized later on, sometimes following what your feelings want you to do can be one of the most unloving things towards yourself.

When was the last time you did something you felt like doing, that ended up impacting the quality of your life in a negative way? 

Anyways! Back to the story I was telling you about that you didn't ask for. 

I felt like absolute shit, did NOT want to go to a fucking workout class, but I showed up anyways. I rode the waves of my negative feelings and pushed through to show up. I end up having a phenomenal time at the workout, got countless valuable corrections on my form which will prevent so many injuries in the future. Leaving the workout, I feel refreshed and like more is possible for me. 

I said well shit, maybe... sometimes it's doing what we don't want to do in the moment that will help us the most. 

It's New Year's Eve. I start work at 8:30PM, and a cute little thought pops up that says I want to go ice skating. I have my skates and while I'm waiting for the train FUCKING COMFORT is trying to slide through AGAIN. 

It goes, oh you probably won't have that much time to ice skate. It's twenty degrees out, it's freezing. Plus, it's New Year's Eve, you're going to look like a loser loner. 

"Don't let anything stop you."

It sounds so simple and small but if I stopped myself from ice skating, what do you think I would do when it came to the bigger things in life like my dreams and goals? Stop. 

I go to ice skate and my soul is completely filled up, I feel alive and happy on the inside seeing the Chicago skyline and lights. Get a wonderful workout in, and feel like the quality of my life is so much better than it was before. 

So what's one small thing in your life, you need to tell yourself, "Don't let anything stop you." 

When do you need to push through to get through more of the beauty this life has waiting to offer you? 

success
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.