Motivation logo

Damee— Detroit’s diamond in the rough

Damee— Detroit’s diamond in the rough

By Jason James Published about a year ago 3 min read
1

Damion, professionally known as Damee, is an American musical artist and songwriter from in Detroit Michigan with a unique and versatile sound.

Why do you love music?

I love music because I feel like it’s a way for me to get out of the society that we live in and it just puts me in a peaceful place, i’ve always been a big fan of music growing up listening to Lil Wayne, Jay Z, Young Thug so growing up I’ve always had a thing for music, I gained inspirations from local detroit artists such as my cousin Boldy James, Babyface Ray, Wrld Tour Mafia so I had a good support team behind me when making music and got good advice and feedback from those who have already made it in the rap industry or music industry and could pass down the wisdom and advice to me to help me be a better artist myself.

What makes you different as an artist?

What I feel makes me different as an artist is i'm very vocal and versatile with my lyrics and beats when I go to make music and I feel like most artist this generation wants to use autotune and other stuff to enhance their voices whereas my voice is all raw vocals mixed in with the beat to make it sound good and I’m also at a young age where I can still develop my voice and perfect my craft going on as an artist.

Where do you see yourself in 5 years?

In five years I see myself still making music and still pursuing the dream that I have, which is to become a second successful artist and really just making my family proud overall and showing other artists who want to make music that nothing is impossible if you pursue what you’re trying to do and to never give up and keep pushing your limits and pushing yourself to become a better version of yourself and to reach that end goal.

What do you want to accomplish?

Some things that I want to accomplish down the line would be just overall making my family proud And like I said, showing other artists that nothing is impossible. If you just put your mind to it and doesn’t even have to be with music, you could be with any skill or passion or desire anything just pursue your dream, and keep going nothing is impossible if you put your mind to it.

What do you bring to the music industry?

I would like to bring to the music or the new sound, and basically raw music no autotune no voice enhancers just raw vocals in a new sound and new versatility to the music industry because most artist these days Have the same sound, and I’m not saying it’s a bad sound, but I feel as if we have too many artist that sound the same and we need a new sound coming into the music industry and I would like to be the one to bring that new sound and introduce this new sound to this generation.

What do you want to be remembered by?

One thing I would like to be remembered, as is the artist that pave the way to show other individuals that nothing is impossible and if you put your mind to it, you can do it because there’s been times where I wanted to make music and just completely give up and then there will be times where I really set my goals and really started pushing myself and pushing my boundaries to help me achieve that goal and I would like to be known as the artist that shows that nothing is impossible. Overall, no matter what your passion is.

celebrities
1

About the Creator

Jason James

Jason James is an American journalist Andrew writer from Miami, Florida that specializes in covering the entertainment industry.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.