Motivation logo

Cyrus Webb: An up and comer, self-made media personality

No excuses and hard work is the mantra of this 'Mississippi country boy'

By AsiyaPublished 3 years ago 4 min read
6
Courtesy of Cyrus Webb

Cyrus Webb is a Mississippi native writer and a talk radio host. He started his radio show Conversations Live 17 years ago. He is celebrating having 10,000 guests on February 11 and 1.1 million listeners. He had many notable guests, including Pulitzer Prize winners (Jon Meacham and Eugene Robinson), media personalities (Stedman Graham, Leeza Gibbons, Levar Burton) and celebrities (Devon Franklin, Tyler Perry and Billy Ray Cyrus).

What makes Cyrus Webb a rising star radio host is not his list of star guests. Cyrus allows his guests the vulnerable space to share their struggles and turnaround stories. At the end of each episode, listeners are left with hope and inspiration. Cyrus has distilled the wisdom shared by his radio guests and shared with readers. “Nothing in life is impossible” and “your goals and dreams are worth fighting for!” are inspirational quotes you can find in his book Power Your Life With The Positive.

Cyrus founded Conversations magazine to promote the work of many unknown artists. Cyrus gave beginner artists their first chance in the spotlight. The way he encourages and promotes young artists is what makes him unique.

The interview:

Asiya: Cyrus, Thank you for speaking with me today. You have interviewed 10,000 writers, artists and celebrities. Today, you are my guest. Let’s start from the beginning. Did you always want to be a media personality?

Cyrus laughed out loud and answered with his trademark silky voice.

Cyrus: I never had that dream. You should ask my mother that question. I was the quiet child. I am an introvert.

No one would have guessed that I would become who I am today.

Asiya: Then how did you get your first opportunity?

Cyrus: I was speaking at a volunteer event. I met the station manager. After he heard me speak, he approached. He said that I had a nice speaking voice. I had not heard that before. He actually offered me a job. It was once a week and I didn’t have to quit my day job. That’s how I started on the radio as a blogger in 2003.

Asiya: Sounds surreal. Did you accept right away? And how did you start blogging full-time?

Cyrus: Of course I did. I am a storyteller at heart. I was always passionate about people’s stories. I was still working full-time as a hotel general manager until 2006. The show gained national attention and the list of guests included celebrities. I had to take a leap of faith. Quitting my job and doing the show six days a week were not easy decisions.

Asiya: What obstacles did you face at that time?

Cyrus: I was my biggest obstacle. I am an introvert and I had to overcome imposter syndromes. Sometimes, we can be our worst enemies. Now when I meet an artist plagued with self-doubt, I say "Stay out of your own way."

Courtesy of Cyrus Webb

Asiya: Cyrus, in 2007 the Chicago Tribune wrote an article about you saying Oprah has to watch her back. How did you feel about that?

Cyrus: I was simply honored by the comparison. I hold Oprah in high regard and have nothing but respect for her. You just can’t try to be someone else. My goal for tomorrow is to be a better version of myself today. I was raised with the belief that if you believe in God and work hard, everything is possible. My mother was a single mother with two children and she instilled in us the value of hard work.

Asiya: Cyrus, you started in 2010 as a book reviewer on Amazon. Now your rank as a book reviewer is #129 nationwide. You have your own Amazon page where you promote products you enjoy. You are now an influencer. What can you share with us about your success with Amazon?

Cyrus: I did not set out to become an influencer on Amazon. I started to write book reviews in 2010. I was 35 years old when I wrote my first review. I was passionate about promoting writers.

Asiya: So you did not do it for the money?

Cyrus laughed out loud.

Courtesy of Cyrus Webb

Cyrus: You do not go far if you do things for the money but yes, now I have a clothing allowance and I will be promoting new items weekly. I am living proof that hard work pays off. You can never rest on your prior achievements. You have to keep going. There are always excuses. Be your own excuse-eliminator.

Asiya: Cyrus before I let you go what is one last piece of advice you have for young artists?

Cyrus: I did not go to college, but I had to work hard and follow my passion. I met young artists who believed that they have to move to LA or New York to make it big. In this day and age, it is simply isn't true. You can make it from anywhere.

You can listen to his daily radio show Conversation Live at WYAD94.1 FM as well as Blog Talk Radio, IHeartRadio, and Spotify. Cyrus Webb, a country boy from Mississippi, has become an influential media personality - and he is not done yet.

celebrities
6

About the Creator

Asiya

Asiya is my Sufi name given to me by Sherif Papa, my spiritual guide. I was born in Cairo, Egypt. I am a spoken word poet. I love writing short stories. Feel free to email

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.