Motivation logo

Creating Purpose

3 Questions to help find your purpose and passion

By Stephi DurandPublished 4 years ago 4 min read
2
Image from Pexels.com

Life isn't always easy. Some people know exactly who they are and who they want to be. Others, however, can feel lost and unsure, almost as if they have no true purpose in this world.

I have felt like that for many years, and it wasn't until earlier this year that I finally realised what it was I wanted, noneeded, to do with my life. What would give me my sense of purpose, what I could do as a career and build an income from.

It was a rocky beginning, planning my steps towards my purpose, but I'm now in the position where I have my projects planned (even if it's just the projects name, and what time of project it is — an example being book or blog post) and I've even begun taking some steps towards producing these projects.

I hope these questions I present to you help you to open up to yourself and discover what it is that you need to have that purpose.

I would like to add, this doesn't have to be career-related. You can take the word 'purpose' and use it in whichever element of your life that you wish! It can be anything from work to religion, or even just within yourself.

Image from Pexels.com

What Does Your Soul Crave?

I understand that this question can be taken deeply, but really the truth of the question is "what do you need/miss?"

When I was working in a very stressful administration job earlier this year, being my first full-time job in several years I was constantly exhausted. I had barely any time to do anything I enjoyed and one of the things I neglected was creativity.

I would miss it and wish to do it when I was working, but it wasn't until my first week off in months, where I did some upcycling projects for my bedroom that I truly realised how much I ached for creativity.

I took that week stripping and painting furniture to heart. I took in every moment possible because it was some form of creativity. I was extremely proud of my paint job, and I felt incredibly refreshed and revitalised.

My soul aches for creativity of any kind. And without it? I feel the effects.

What Gets A Reaction From You?

What gets you excited? Happy? Motivated?

What makes you really want to go and do that thing?

I look for what makes me feel good, what can challenge me, what makes me want to do nothing but that because I simply enjoy it that much!

What makes you, when you wake up in the morning insanely exhausted, still get out of bed because you get to do, see, or even attend that thing?

Image from Pexels.com

Is This Something You Can Bring To, Or Share With Others?

If it's not a career goal, is it a potential hobby? Something you can do with family and friends? Or something you can share with them, to give them an opportunity to learn your new interest and purpose.

Is your purpose charitable? Is it helping others in some way?

Is it something that should you want to, you can do with others and not just alone?

I'm hoping to gain writing friends, become a part of a community of other creatives where we can promote each other's work and uplift one another. I see the way people in art communities can bond and even grow together, it is something I would definitely like to join, even if I do find myself a little socially awkward!

Finding my purpose has allowed me to no longer feel lost. I feel like I may have finally found the path that suits me. I have so many limitations due to various health problems that I began to worry that I maybe wasn't capable of the working world.

Don't get me wrong, gaining that purpose has given me a long road of work ahead of me, and it will most definitely have its tough days. But you know what? I'm more than ready for it. I've found my purpose, my passion, and I cannot wait to dive right in!

If you enjoyed this story, please don't forget to:

•Leave a like,

•Share it,

•Give me a tip!

advice
2

About the Creator

Stephi Durand

Indie Author | Content Creator

'Look Up' is available to purchase at all online book retailers in Paperback and eBook.

Writing here, writing there, writing everywhere...

Instagram: @stevie_dd

Twitter: @StephiDurand

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.