Motivation logo

Chef Glaze - The Celebrity Chef On Opening His Restaurant "Glaze Kitchen"

Chef Glaze rising to fame and success amid COVID

By Michelle Du'BoisPublished 3 years ago 7 min read
Like

Commencing his career as a mere teenager Chef Glaze unearthed his vast zeal for cooking. The emerging food connoisseur held an immense passion towards educating himself. In addition to self-education he began acquiring as much experience in the hospitality and food industry as possible. Throughout the premature stages of his budding career he sought employment as a waiter. During his adolescence, Chef Glaze’s affinity for cooking and creating meals expanded effortlessly. He commenced his experimentations with a variety of diverse seasonings and flavor palettes. Absorbing as much knowledge as possible Chef Glaze sought mentorship in an advanced chef who recognized his immense talent and love for cooking. The mentorship presented Glaze with the opportunity to deepen his knowledge and skill set in the refinement of the hospitality industry. In which, allowed him to continually grow and elevate throughout the duration of his culinary career.

Chef Glaze is currently serving as a corporate and private chef. The celebrity chef has worked with vast creative minds and business moguls such as: NY Giants, Facebook, Jim Jones, Fetty Wap, Mack Wilds, Power 105.1, Travis McCoy, Hot 97 DJ Drewski, Dj Wallah, Dj LilMan, Darius Dk, Jack Thriller, Chef JR, “KISSTHECHEF” Chef Damitem, personal chef & co host of Party & Bullshit “Talk That Chef Talk”. Adding to the vast success of the celebrated chef, chef Glaze was voted as the best guyanese cheese by the United Nations for 2019.

Instagram: IG @Chef_Glaze______________

Question: What would you say are the top three skills needed to be a successful entrepreneur?

Answer: In my opinion commitment is the most important part of being a successful entrepreneur. In becoming the best you can be it will take years and a lot of downs before you begin to see the ups, which is why commitment is priority, despite how many times you fail you have to continue to push and motivate yourself, Even when the people that started out with you begin to loose faith, you still have to somehow convince yourself that it’s worth it to keep going. After all, you signed up for this journey, it wasn’t forced upon. Your level of commitment falls entirely on you, No one to blame, nor pat you on your back when things are going great but your self. Accepting everything that comes with being an entrepreneur only allows you to think outside the box which allows your creativity to run wild and far beyond your greatest imagination. Thus far making acceptance the 2nd key needed to become a successful entrepreneur. In life some things are completely out of our control no matter how much we prepare or practice, but those that may adapt to their surroundings or situations and allow their creativity to take control of the course in how things may flow are more likely to make it to the next level. Once accepted that you have no control on how things play out, but commit to the fact that you will follow through and be patient, you will be well on your way to being the best entrepreneur you know. Last but not least , patience is the overall key of becoming a great entrepreneur as you first have to commit and accept the path in which you may walk to be what ever it is that you set your mind to becoming on this journey of entrepreneurship.

Question: What have been some of your failures, and what have you learned from them?

Answer: Within the past 5 years of building this brand, I have failed in so many embarrassing ways that I had no choice but to turn them into lessons to teach as I continue to grow. As I always say, in life you’ll meet three types of people, the ones that’s going through something that you have already been through, the people that’s about to go through it and the people that have already been through what you’re going through. Once you’ve realized who they are it makes the relationship between the two much easier. One of my biggest failures in building my brand is that I originally did not have a contract so everything was done off the strength of word of mouth and A hand shake, little did I know because we had no written contracts most people took advantage of that situation and when ever wanted would switch the deal to more of their liking or in their favor I should say. For example the original deal I had with 1 lounge was a 70/30 split and ill cover all expenses which is why 70% of the profits came back to me, however that owner then switched up within 2 months seeing the growth and said he wanted a 60/40 deal which 60% would be going to him. Of course I was smart enough to breach our verbal contract and walked away, which ruined both our personal and business relationship that same day however never again would I do another split much less verbal contract, forgive me but nahhh, I need everything in writing, not just for my protection but also for the protection of who ever I’m going into business with. Another mistake I’ve made while building this company was I always wanted to be better than most of my former bosses or partners so of course I always took the nicer routes, putting peoples emotions above what was best for the business. Its always said not to take kindness for weakness, well in my situations just about almost everyone took my kind heart for weakness which of course created a tough boss, I've given numerous check advances when I shouldn’t have only to never have the staff finish there shifts or abide to the agreement we’ve made in regards to me giving them a check advance to help them out with there personal issues. So in the end I’ve wasted money that I could have use for either personal reasons or to forward the business financially These simple mistakes I’ve made has taught me why employers and big companies have the guidelines they have to protect the employer and employee policy. Further more when in business its always best to do what’s best for business if you want to make it in this industry or any.

Question: How many hours do you work a day on average?

Answer: On an average day I can find myself working anywhere from 8-20 hours a depending on just about how much I have going on for the restaurant for that week. Work can consist of grocery shopping, prepping, cooking, cleaning, training, paperwork and of course marketing which are all top priorities to keep the business going. As the CEO of this company I often find myself wearing various hats at times to accommodate the needs of the business. As stated we are a small but fast growing company. I truly appreciate every one that has been there from day one and all the consumers that are just getting to know Chef Glaze the brand.

Question: Describe/outline your typical day?

Answer: My inspiration for culinary arts comes from the smiles and impression that I leave on everyone, from the customers that are beyond satisfied to the staff that look forward too come to work because its more than just job, as some may say this is a getaway from there personal issues that they may be dealing with. To of course my three kids, I truly want to create a life not just for myself and them but for my future grand children, I legacy that’s bigger than me. A legacy that lives on forever.

Question: What inspires your process?

Answer: My inspiration for culinary arts comes from the smiles and impression that I leave on everyone, from the customers that are beyond satisfied to the staff that look forward too come to work because its more than just job, as some may say this is a getaway from there personal issues that they may be dealing with. To of course my three kids, I truly want to create a life not just for myself and them but for my future grand children, I legacy that’s bigger than me. A legacy that lives on forever.

Question: How has being an entrepreneur affected your family life?

Answer: Being an entrepreneur has affect my family by giving them something bigger than just a 9-5 to look forward too. Something as big as as legacy than can provide for generations to come not just for our family, but others j=should as both our employees and consumers.

Question: What motivates you?

Answer: My Greatest Motivation in life is I can’t afford to be homeless again for the 5th time

interview
Like

About the Creator

Michelle Du'Bois

Has been writing for Vocal since Feb. 2021 covering lifestyle fashion and entertainment

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.