Motivation logo

Change and You

by Julio Morales

By JulioPublished 3 years ago 3 min read
Like

Change and You

In my life, what it means to make a change can be a lot of things. It can come from physical to mental or even emotional. For me making a change is being dedicated to being different than you were yesterday. I at least work to be better than yesterday. Positive changes can be small to big. Choosing to eat the carrot instead of the Cheetos. It all depends on if you’re willing to change your habits or ways. I mean you want to be fit and strong but you only eat cake. You’ll feel like you made a mistake. Positive changes are all in your choice.

I made some positive changes by deciding to stay sober. I went into a recovery home or a rehab center as they call it. Turned myself in on October 11th to try to change my life around from 3 years of self-medicating. I only saw pain, hurt, suffering by what my actions were doing. I never really wanted to hurt anyone but it did not matter who I hurt I only hurt myself more. I made a change to turn myself in and stay sober. I got out on January 5th. The program helped me stay clean, taught me a lot of things. It actually helped me grow up. My life is a whole new one because of the choices I’m choosing to make now. They say “Don’t worry about tomorrow and forget about the past, Stay sober today and you’ll be sober every day. Live it one day at a time” I live up to that quote a lot because now I’m on track to being 6 months sober and my positive changes, attributes, relationships have made life easier for me.

What it takes to make a long-term/lifetime positive change is a lot more than you think. First of all you need at least a short-term goal that can last every day, which later changes to long term. Setting a goal that’s too extreme could cause you to fall back into whatever problems you were in. You need a stable home and support group that can help you achieve your goals. You need commitment, dedication and many more. No one can dictate your faith only with the choices that you choose to do will determine how far you get. You’re the only reason for your destruction, don't let that undermine you. You can’t blame anything or anyone for your mistakes or failures, it's all you.

Before I went into recovery without the help of anyone I told myself I can stay clean on my own. I thought that I could prove everyone wrong that you don’t need help or people to be successful. That was my biggest mistake. How was I supposed to succeed if I did not even believe I could. I relapsed over and over again. The drugs, the depression got in my way but it was I. I had control but I let them get the best of me. Not no more for I am strong now.

Things that get in the way of all the happiness we are trying to achieve can be our ego, or our unrealistic dreams. Some people grieve money so much they go gamble and lose everything in the process. Some people Use drugs to escape this “cruel reality” that everyone is living in to be in a more subtle, calm, relaxing world. In the process some lose their life’s, either in correctional places, institutions or death. Be happy for what you have and you’ll be better off, have lots of gratitude for the things in life. Overall, be good even when everything is bad. That’s the key to happiness.

A positive change I would like to maintain is staying sober. I want this because my sobriety can lead to many successful and great achievements. I hope to make this change so I can keep my family, so I can be able to see them. I need to be clean so I can grow up. Drugs took away the pain I had inside but it only hurt me more. I need to forgive and forget my past so I can one day be truly happy. I thank the past me for the failures that he made me do or else I wouldn’t have grown to be the strong guy I am now. All I need to do is push away those who are falling into the path I was in, find a support group, which I already have, Celebrate recovery is the best group I’ve been in. Work out and not get bored because a lot of things can trigger me to fall back. But if I do fall down I will get back up on my feet.

advice
Like

About the Creator

Julio

My name Is Julio. I am new to this but this is a little about me. I’m a full time Paramedic.I have been in and out of hospital for seizures. In my short life I have experienced hardships. I want to share it to the world.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.