Motivation logo

Breaking Free

Part 1: the dream

By J.C. SteelePublished 4 years ago 4 min read
Like
The end goal. Still a long way to go!

So, society as we know it appears to be tearing itself apart. The push for unity that drove our forefathers forward appears to be in reverse. I hate it!

Some years ago I decided that society wasn’t for me. I’ve always worked hard and tried to help others. But now that I look back, I see my hard work I rewarded and ‘others’ doing pretty well for themselves.

So I started thinking about how to solve this problem. The answer came by a chance discovery that owning a boat isn’t necessarily as expensive as I always thought.

Back in 2014 I was spending my days behind a bar, working ridiculous hours because that helped keep the wage bill down for my boss. I needed something to fill my time and that’s when I really got into YouTube, an untapped resource that had been around for years. A plethora of short videos in every subject you could imagine!

I happened upon a video about the canal network here in the U.K. and started to research the cost and viability of living aboard a boat permanently. It turned out it wasn’t actually that expensive. However, the set back was that unlike buying a house (relatively little initial outlay for relatively high monthly costs), you needed almost all of the money upfront to buy the boat. But then the monthly payments were negligible, compared to the monthly cost of living in London.

So each year since then I tried to move myself into a position of maximum earnings and minimum outgoings. Unfortunately, due to my helpful nature, I rarely managed to achieve this. After putting everything into a business that would benefit some of my closest friends that had helped me in the past and also start me on my way to quickly get my little boat, I fell afoul of the company that I had committed everything to.

After having a new business premises delayed by 6 months, after having worked all over the country in the mean time to keep my tender with the company alive, I was unceremoniously removed from my bar, which meant my home as well. Not to mention, my staff, who had waited patiently on the promise of an amazing place to work and a real future, only to be told that you’re all fired.

I was gutted. I’d been assaulted, called away from my family at Christmas, turned around a couple of failing businesses for no benefit to me and I was now homeless, jobless and now insolvent as well.

It hurt. It hurt to see others suffer because I couldn’t support them. I didn’t know what to do. I didn’t even know why it happened. I explanation was given by the company.

It was only the extreme generosity of a good friend that saved me from the streets. With a roof over my head I was determined not to be beaten. In a couple of months, I had found a job, within a couple more months I had passed my probation, extended my contracted hours and even been made a mentor for the new hires.

The company appear to have my interests at heart, but there’s also a whole host of employment law that makes sure they do as well.

I could’ve caved. I was in a pretty dark pace for a while. But now I can see a light at the end of the tunnel!

Since starting work I have been constantly re-evaluating my goal, trying to minimise wherever I can and maximise every earning opportunity to try and get myself ready for the next step.

Unfortunately, my earnings aren’t massive. I’m comfortable for now but saving requires some pretty severe cut backs.

Currently I’ve spent time researching methods of legitimate and regular pay alongside work, to try and ensure I can exit regular employment and move onto my boat.

I’ve experimented with good alternatives, that further reduce my outgoings. I’ve even tried my hand at writing, to try and generate a modest income!

But the most important realisation, I suppose the crux of this piece, is that you don’t have to drown in the debts that modern life is trying to force us into.

With a small amount of restraint and a fair amount of imagination, it is possible to free yourself from the stranglehold of sky high rents and the bills that go with them. The endless desire to have the latest thing, dwindelling away any hope of savings.

Wether it be a camper van, a canal boat or a full blown ocean going sail boat, there are options. I think everyone who is struggling would benefit from researching an off grid existence.

It’s not for everyone, some people can’t make the move because of children and their requirements. Some people simply enjoy the materialism.

But for me, a natural and spiritual release is what my mind is crying out for. And I shall look forward to documenting each and every stage right here, for anyone who cares to dream...

Let’s just hope that the updates don’t come too far between!

success
Like

About the Creator

J.C. Steele

Amateur writer of fiction, revisiting something I was getting quite good at as a child. I’m desperately trying to break out of society, so eventually (hopefully) there’ll be a series of shorts on making the move to off grid living.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.