Motivation logo

Bossy turned into a Business.

The Story of How I got into finding my passion.

By Rilee AreyPublished about a year ago 3 min read
1

It was June 19th, 2021 and the morning of the long-awaited day, 10 years to be exact. Today was the day my brother was marrying his high school sweetheart and longtime girlfriend. It was set up like a dream, and I was lucky enough to be a part of it all.

Weddings come to me like sweetness comes to a child. Everything about it makes my world more exciting. I have been working in different aspects of the wedding industry most of my life. From catering, to bartending, to venue coordination to working day of the wedding. I have had my hands intermixed in most departments of the wedding industry. Although I have always loved working weddings, something felt like it was missing.

Being the maid of honor for my brother's wedding gave me the front row seat to a love story, to their love story. I was enchanted in every moment they shared from the beginning to the end of the night. My eyes were the lens directing straight from my heart. It was captivating. Along side me was the videographer and photographer capturing all the details that went into the day. I became the bossy maid of honor telling the videographer how to do his job and what he needed to capture. My small Cannon Cam Corder and I had no idea what was in store for me two years later.

After the most special day, the videographer asked if he could pull some dancing footage off of my Cam Corder that I took around the dance floor at the end of the night. I have always desired capturing moments in time to look back at. But his request sparked my interest.

That next month, I asked my friend who was getting married, if she had hired a videographer and if not, could I come and give it a try. It all started with a box kit Nikon Camera I had kept around for the last seven years with no interest to ever learn how to use it. I attended her wedding and between the Nikon Camera and my camcorder, I recorded her wedding with no experience but an on button and auto settings. Within that day, I found the piece of me that was missing in my love for weddings.

I found my love of capturing their love story and overall day. When I did all these other wedding job, I was a mule in the making of the day, not the person getting to see the magic of it. I fell in love with creating and showcasing their love story. Following that, I offered to do another friend's wedding, investing is a small Sony Camera Body. I fell more and more in love with a dream I didn't even know a dream a few months ago. From that point, I posted on a wedding Facebook group offering to video and edit a wedding for $200 for select dates. I got a few bite and expereinced my first paid wedding. I know it seem like much, but Iwas getting paid for something I loved being a part of.

Fast forward two years later and I now proudly own and run Watermelon Sugar Film and Events, where I get paid to be a part of a person's most special day from behind the lens. I get to capture and create a moment in time for them. Something to look back on to remember grandma getting low to fireball, or the sweetness exchanged in the first dances. I get to see and be a part of every couple's day without being in the wedding.

I never thought this was the route I would be taking at this time in my life, but now I want nothing more for it to be how I spend my life. A life full of capturing love, moments, authenticity, doing something I love. All because of me being a bit bossy to a videographer at my brother's wedding.

success
1

About the Creator

Rilee Arey

What a life we live, Lets live a life where we have something to write home about!

27-year-old trying to find meaning, love and a life worth living.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Test4 months ago

    You're doing amazing work

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.