Motivation logo

Authentic Self

Being your true self comes with speaking Your Truth.

By Merichel SanchezPublished 4 years ago 3 min read
1
Created by @lauriepink

I personally haven't been the greatest in speaking my truth in the past. I would agree with other beliefs or values when it contradicted mine. I lived my way in others shadow and following the crowd. Honestly, it wasn't fulfilling. It was a trauma response, to be a people pleaser. -- During my time of reflecting and attending to wounds I found that some of my destructive behaviours were trauma responses. This gave me the compassion that I needed to heal and forgive for myself. We can't undo trauma or our past. Mistakes were made and some regrets. Although that is where lessons are embedded in. It is the individual's job to find the lesson. Sometimes it's not always in your face.

I have recently started using social media like Facebook and Instagram for a platform to share my truth and express myself. - I never thought I'd be posting so much of my own workout. Let alone share the other account I've made and hidden. It feels good being myself. It feels good for embracing my true self. It feels good not having to hide. It feels good not wanting to perfect anymore. It feels good not caring about what others think.

I like to emphasise that the person I am now, wasn't made overnight. I am saying this because we are living in a world where we have been condition to compare with one another and look for outside approvals. We were praised for being the same as the other kids. We were taught to think one way or no way. We got taught that our own mind was our worst enemy. When in reality - others influences and their mind, into your mind is the worst thing to happen. Don't ever mould yourself into others expectations. That life leads to resentment and self-loading. - That is not the happy ending, I am creating.

That is why I admire Jameela Jamil. She speaks her truth and embraces her true authentic self. Her actions mirror her values and fights for the injustice happening. She radiates confidence and self-love.

She is open about her experiences and her struggles. She speaks up about having a healthy relationship with our body and society's expectations. As well as bring down and speaking the truth about those diet/detox products celebrities and influencers promote to their audiences. Here is a video of what she has to say about those harmful products, recently:

Jameela isn't only voicing her views on mental health and body image. She also advocates and gives a platform for new activists and anybody who expresses their truth. She has started an Instagram account called I WEIGH. It's a platform for advocating and expressing issues like mental health, climate change to breaking down the stereotypes in the world. This social media platform is honest, truthful and welcoming. It also shares tips, advice, awareness and support to mental health and other injustice happening around the world.

Jameela began a campaign and advocates to exposing the damaging and horrible effects that detox/diets that influencers and celebrities indorse onto their audience and followings.

The promotion of weight loss through these detoxes and diets have plenty of harmful effects not only is it damaging to your body but our mental health and our relationship with our body. -- It promotes the wrong message. Celebrities like Kylie Jenner and Khloe Kardashian who both has a large following on Instagram. Both have promoted products like this before in the past. People who have a large amount of influence and power shouldn’t be promoting products that do more harm than good to their audience.

Khloe Kardashian posted this image on her social media (some time ago).

Jameela knows the influence and power she has with a large following on her social media and as well to society. She isn't another carbon copy. She's an example of someone who doesn't let her struggles and past define her. She is the woman I aspire to be. Bold, confident and always speaking their truth.

celebrities
1

About the Creator

Merichel Sanchez

Ascending and Evolving

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.