Motivation logo

Artistic Superhero

OrieYo HIPHOPHAIRNHEAT

By Orianna Williams Published 3 years ago 3 min read
Like
Artistic Superhero
Photo by Flaunter on Unsplash

My name is Orianna, but people call me Orie. I’m the oldest of three girls. My mother was raised in foster care. We grew up rough and it wasn't the easiest. My mom wasn't able to fulfill her dreams as the hairstylist she knew she was gifted to be. She would take her clients at home so I was always surrounded by new hair products and techniques. This peaked my interest as a child. My mom showed me how to survive the same way I am trying to now. Growing up, I was able to follow her footsteps and help her assist some of her clients as her mini personal assistant. My mom taught me how to conquer my fears by doing hair and that built my confidence. Hair has been a way my mother was able to take care of herself and her children as she aged out of foster care. She was able to make a living, raising her family. My mother has been my role model because even when she was down, I could never tell. My mom would always put on a show with her hair and makeup. I don’t know what my mom saw in the mirror that made her so persistent with every look, but in that mirror I saw a Queen of Queens. It was as if she kept her superhero outfit in her makeup bag. Her hair was supernatural. Her makeup was done to perfection and she tuned out the world once that tool was in her hand.

I put myself through college, but due to unforseen circumstances, I had to drop out. While being homeless and dealing with family issues, I enrolled myself into Empire Beauty School. I knew where my focus lied and I just had to listen to my gut instinct. As every child develops in a broken home, it is a lot more difficult to accept the growth of others. My mom and I have had major falling outs due to our indifferences. Those arguments fueled my passion with the fight to keep on pursuing my goals.

Today, I am an Artist/Entrepreneur and I love to express myself by being creative with my hair and music. My mothers struggles shaped me into who I am today. Moreso, who I know I am going to be one day. I am now a personal, professional, and traveling stylist currently based out of Manhattan. Mastering in all textures and styles. I’ve worked hard to have my own LLC called HIPHOPHAIRNHEAT. This journey pushed me into becoming the best version of myself in terms of following my hair/music career. I have moments where I feel like my hair is a distraction from the goal of my art of music. My hair fuels my passion for getting my music where it needs to be. Everyday is another hurdle to be better than I was the day before. I learned through experience that a risk is not to be feared, but embraced, which kept me going.

I’ve been investing in myself with what I have. Between doing my hair, paying for producers/engineers and traveling to clients when needed. I am able to get these things done by God’s grace and my strong minded, passion for this craft. I hope to invest my gains into my business to help me grow and expand my wildest dreams of being the artist that I know I will one day be.I will be investing in my own brand of braiding hair as well. With my own braiding hair I can promote my art of braiding while being able to promote my music. My dream is to be known not just for the things I do, but I want to educate others who may have gone through similar situations.

Clients never have the time to go get their hair extensions so I thought to myself that this will be a great opportunity to kill two birds in one stone. Until then, I will continue being focused & creative as my mother did. I plan on taking my dreams to the top.

“They Gone Hippitty Hop.''

sincerely and truthfully, OrieYo.

Thank you for reading my short story. I hope you've gotten the chance to learn more about me.

Check my IG @Orie_Yo for more amazing photos and current projects <3

success
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.