Motivation logo

Are you where you're supposed to be?

It's the change and growth for me

By theboxexchange Published 3 years ago 4 min read
1

"To be or not to be..." Talk about a guy who couldn't make up his mind. Do you want to find the culprit or not? This dude Hamlet finds out his dad was murdered and can't decide whether to investigate it or not I mean the whole story is just filled with what-ifs?

Can't help but wonder how many times we have filled our head with what-ifs? Can you imagine where you could be right now if you sacrificed your comfort? This is not to encourage people to part-take in an unhealthy relationship with work, you know those grind 36 hours no sleep motivations....yeah no! I'm talking about when you're supposed to go into a season of change but you see the wilderness and you end up opting out.

Let's just talk this through, what scares you about the wilderness? You'll find out that the problem is you've heard about what's in there and I've written about this before but we get scared. Fear of the unknown and fear of people will stifle you and I can only pray that you overcome that because there is growth in the struggle.

Yeah, I said it. Growth is in the struggle, like your coffee mug as an example was kneaded as clay and spun over and over again to get that perfect shape according to the potter's plan. It was not only dried but it goes through fire to finish creating it. The point is, don't fear the wilderness, fight through it. The amazing part is your cup doesn't know what it has been through so it breaks easily but you know where you're coming from, you have to trust that it can get better so don't shatter.

Don't forget this, character over comfort. Desire to grow in your character than your comfort. This will build grit and it will destroy your fear. I've ugly cried in the washroom multiple times before because everything was just closing in on me. But I had to be reminded that comfort makes me stagnant, the better me is the one who comes out from these challenges and the same applies to you.

So what are you going to do?

Hamlet died at the end by the way, but legend says it was because he overcalculated every step and he got the shorter end of the stick.

Few pointers to help you through the wilderness

- It does not last forever; that season will eventually pass and the fruits are sweeter. Develop and grit. Tell yourself I'm not leaving until I see a difference.

- Purge self-comparison; oftentimes I've done this whereby I know what I'm fighting for but I want to enjoy life just like my friends are but I need to realize we are not the same boat. It doesn't make my friends bad people but it means you need to keep your eyes focused.

- Embrace the journey; I don't know about you but the phrase 'keep your eyes on the prize ' doesn't work. I tend to get impatient and exhausted before I begin and I believe it is because we see the work needed to arriving and just that is exhausting. My advice is to accept each day. Admit when it was hard and what you can do tomorrow to make it better. Always strive to improve tomorrow, stronger than today and even better than yesterday.

- Motivation is temporary; no one is going to do the work for you. You have to actually want change and growth. Just like if your resolution was to lose weight no one is going to lose it for you, no one is going to go to the gym and eat healthy for you then hand you the body after. You are responsible for your actions and the choices you make.

-Lastly, let go of the victim mentality. I have cried so many times with the words why me. But I wonder how many people know they were created for such a time as this with purpose attached to it. If only we could grasp the fact that the things we complain about, there is someone out there praying to have the same opportunity, maybe then we will see change and growth.

advice
1

About the Creator

theboxexchange

Tap into that inner strength that you know you have, because there is more you can achieve. Spread love. Be joyful.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.