Motivation logo

Are You Ready for That Carer Change

That incredible life you have always dreamed about

By Angie Craig Published 5 years ago 3 min read
Like

Are you ready for that carer change, and create that incredible life you have always dreamed about?

If you want an incredible life, you must be prepared to walk away from the very thing you don’t want.

If your job isn’t the thing that you see yourself doing next year, next month, or even next week. If you spend your days off dreading the days you go back, even if you hit the snooze bottom to give yourself that extra few moments and lay there dreading having to get up, get ready, for the job you hate. It's time to get out.

Write your notice and keep it in your bag, just writing your notice and getting words down on paper will clear your mind and get your thoughts straight in your head.

I’m confident that no matter who you are, you can choose who you want to become.

Photo by Jo Szczepanska on Unsplash

If you can’t quit straight away, set yourself a date and stick to you. In six weeks from today: I will be handing in my notice. Then take steps to make that happen. Work a couple of extra shifts, save your money, make the vision board, do what you need to do to leave.

It’s just too easy to settle.

It’s easy to settle, it’s easy to stay in your comfort zone, it’s much harder to go after the work/life you have always wanted; however, really, it only takes 20 seconds of insane courage to say, "Right, I’ve had enough. No, I quit, I’m leaving." It’s that 20 second mark that you just relaxed, when you have made that choice, everything becomes clear, up until that moment, Inside, I was deeply unhappy and the most unfulfilled I have ever been, but once I realised that, "No, I had really had enough," I felt a huge weight lifted.

Make everyday count!!! In your personal life as well as your working life.

So, are you ready for that carer change? That’s scary, it’s one thing to make the choice to leave the job that you relay on to pay the bills, it’s another to make the choice to make a career change. Being in a job I hated was the most difficult period of my life; inside, I was deeply unhappy and was in the most unfulfilled that I had been in years. I wasn’t enjoying my work, which was crazy because I had been in that field for over 24 years. Why now? Why was it at the point in my life that I had woke up and thought, "I’m just not feeling it anymore?" I was worn out, exhausted all the time, boredom was driving me crazy. it’s never as easy to just leave, I had bills to pay, rent to make each month, I felt like I was about to abandon my friends; but after months of getting stressed, picking up one illness after the other, and fighting with depression due to my job ,I had to make that choice. My life was worth more than a company that would replace me by the end of the week.

So, I wrote my notice; in fact, I wrote it a number of times. The first few was just getting all the hate out on paper until I come up with a nice notice. I didn’t say what I wanted to say, but it was there in black and white, everything just made sense. The company I worked for had no values, no standards, and my time was worth more than money. That was just the end of it.

Someone once told me that I was the kind of woman that’s always asking what is possible, rather than saying, "No, that’s impossible!" And it’s true, I am the kind of woman that knows that she is worthy of having the life I wanted. Somewhere in my 30s, with bills to pay, I forgot who I was deep underneath it all. I used to look for solutions instead of complaining about problems, but I found myself complaining about my problems without looking for solutions; complaining everyday about the job, the management, the company. That’s stopped now and I know that if you are reading this, you are the same kind of person I am. Sometimes we have to put our best foot forward and not just get on with the lives and jobs that we hate, but go out and grab life by the balls! Say, "No fucks given, this is what I want, and this is how I’m going to go and get it." Believe in yourself more, put your best foot forward, and create the life you have always dreamed about doing. Go out and own it, live it, with absolutely no regrets.

Photo by A B on Unsplash

success
Like

About the Creator

Angie Craig

40 something and I think I have finally found myself. In the past few years I have gone through a crazy of experiences. getting married too young, divorced, solo hiking, the pennine way, learning to live with PTSD, I have stories to tell.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.