Motivation logo

An Actor Prepares - Part Two

You gotta start young.

By Ella V RobbPublished 4 years ago 4 min read
1
Fox, Boy and Cat from 'Pinocchio', 11 years ago. Sexy.

I will never forget the day I told my High School Headteacher that I wanted to go to Drama School to study Acting and Musical Theatre. She immediately swatted the idea away saying that the chances of getting into a school like that were extremely few and far between. And only for exeptionally talented people.

Because that's what every nearly 18 year old school leaver wants to hear.

When I wouldn't back down, she told me that I'd at least have to have a back up plan because her daughter wanted to be an actress as well and she auditioned for the RSAMD (or the Royal Conservatoire of Scotland as it's now known) 4 times and had never even gotten to the recall round. So she had to settle with a Drama and English University course instead.

'Well, that's a shame for your daughter' I thought. Yes thought - I'd never talk back to The Head, even when were in a wee side room of the Guidance Office having a one to one career chat - the door was open and I've never liked getting into trouble. 'I'm sure she is very talented,' I said, '...but I am very aware of how hard an industry it is to get into.' 'If I don't get in to Drama School this year, then I'll go to college (a level lower than University here in the UK) and get my diploma before reauditioning again in two years time. I've already auditioned for two colleges, and been accepted to both their Musical Theatre courses. I'll be able to better my skills, especially in Dance!'

'Oh no, you won't be going to college, Victoria. You are far too clever, too academically minded to be going to a vocational college,' she tutted. 'Why not look at Drama degrees from a regular University instead. You can use those two years to gain you knowledge in the correct environment...' In other words - You are not going to be the smart fish that escapes my statistics-focused net by lowering your brain cells to that sespit of Further Education filth. Not on my watch.'

And this is where it began.

The words 'I'm going to prove you wrong' came into my head, but I couldn't bring myself to say them quite yet. So I opted for 'Well Miss, I don't really want to be sat in a lecture hall full of 200 other students taking notes from someone reading a slide show. I'm a visual and kinesthetic learner. So I think the vocational route would be better for my learning and development and would benefit me the most when it comes to reapplying for Drama Schools. Did you know that a student can be fast tracked into 2nd or 3rd year with a HND from a college doing a similar course? (showing my research, yes I had not taken this decision lightly) There are loads of options, it's not going to be a step down for me.'

I stood my ground.

I prepared for the back lash - I'd had it for most of my school life. 'You're just a wee drama kid, ya wee Music Geek Freak.' 'You spend all your time in the Drama and Music departments.' 'Do you even know where the real classrooms are?' 'You're too clever to be doing that.' 'Acting's not going to pay the bills, you know.' 'It's not a real job.' 'When are you going to get a real job?'

People will bash you. They will have no problem telling that you'll end up poor and unfulfilled with your life, don't bother, you're never going to make it. So - start growing that thick skin. Because if you want to get to where you want to go, you gotta work for it. Stand your ground and fight for what you want.

If you had told me that after said conversation with my Head Teacher (11 years ago this year, by the way) I would go to a highly respected college, spend two years honing my craft to prepare myself for three of the biggest auditions of my life, then get a plance at the biggest Conservatoire of Music and Dance in the country to study my dream course?! I'd have been shocked, aye. But not surprised. I truly mean this in the least egotistical way because when I look back on those mad 3 years, I worked hard to get into that School. I grew my thick skin (some may say a little too think!) I learned, I researched my castability, I discovered my niche, I began to shape my actor's trajectory, I found my place in this crazy world of the performing arts. I kept on standing my ground. It took a few more years for me to get comfy but the reason behind it all - I was prepared.

So, to anyone who wants to take the plunge, no matter what your career, goals, ambition or wants from life: Just Do It. You won't regret it. And you'll never know until you try.

❤️

advice
1

About the Creator

Ella V Robb

Scottish Actor. Singer. Musician. Creator. Teacher. Wannabe blogger??

May include: Meanderings, ponderings, ramblings and the occasional musical breakout.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.