Motivation logo

Achieving Greatness

Listen to Yourself

By Lucero GonzalezPublished 3 years ago 5 min read
Like
Achieving Greatness
Photo by Katt Yukawa on Unsplash

My chest felt heavy. I was ready to leave. Every day felt the same as if I was stuck in a never-ending loop. What was I doing? Why me? Why did I have to live the same routine every single day? There was no other option, especially since I was in charge of my younger siblings.

Ever since the accident, I took full custody of Sam and Lacy. As an eighteen-year-old, taking care of five-year-old twins wasn’t easy, but it had been ten years since our parents’ passed away. We have been getting by. When my parents were still around, I was intent to go to Brown University. I took a year off to travel before applying. Everyone believed in me. Unfortunately, that was not my path to take. I did go to South Africa and Egypt, but then I received the dreadful phone call.

My siblings were put in foster care, while I got back home. Our parents were the only family we had, and I was not about to leave my sisters in the hands of strangers. Once I got back, I did everything I could to get custody of the twins. It took months, but I was able to land a job as a junior secretary and along with my parents’ savings, we were able to keep the house. The twins were in foster care for half a year, but I finally brought them home.

Ten years later, here I was trying my best to save and go to college – any college in fact. We weren’t poor, but I didn’t have enough money and time to go to college. I was tired of working at the same company doing unimportant work for over nine years. I wanted more out of life. I wanted to change the world – to make it better. I was the golden girl of my high school, always ready to help others. Throughout those ten years, I had volunteered at multiple non-profit organizations every other weekend. It was in my blood to help others.

I was on my way home from work, desperate to lay down and sleep. The girls would be either studying or sleeping by now. I made it home, parked the car, and slumped my way towards my bedroom. The girls were fast asleep. I showered and fell to sleep.

My alarm woke me up as a reminder nothing had changed. I picked up my small black notebook per custom and wrote down random thoughts. I wrote how much I desired for something to change. I wanted to do more, be more. I craved to make an impact on the environment and help future generations breathe cleaner air. I took a deep breath, stopped writing, and placed my notebook inside my purse.

The girls were making themselves breakfast early in the morning. They were heading off on a field trip. When it was time, I drove them to school and got a coffee at the coffee shop down the street. There weren’t many people inside the shop, so I made my way towards the usual table. Calming music was playing in the background. I took out my small black notebook from my purse and placed it on the table. I wrote down how starting today I would try my best to change things up. I realized I was the one doing the same thing over and over again, so I moved tables. The act of moving tables was in itself revolutionary. Someone walked up to me and smiled. He looked dreamy.

“Janie, I am so proud of you. I finally get to see you choose a different path. You are more than capable of making your own choices. Yes, things can get complicated, but everything is possible when you just believe and take action. Our hopes and dreams aren’t given to us instantaneously, but through our experiences, we can achieve greatness. It’s time you follow your whole heart. Listen to yourself. When it’s time for a change you will know and Janie you got this. I believe in you, love,” said the stranger as he wrote down random numbers on my notebook.

I was stunned and incapable of speaking. I completely froze as he wrote down those numbers and just like that he left. I glanced at the numbers he wrote down.

“9 12 66 94 14,” I mumbled under my breath.

My alarm went off and I jumped in realization. Was that a dream? Was I dreaming? How could that have been a dream? It felt so real. I guessed nothing changed. I heard noises coming from the kitchen. The girls were making breakfast and getting ready for their field trip. It felt like déjà vu. Once they were done, I drove them to school.

“Janie, wait! Take us to the liquor store,” Sam demanded.

“Why, exactly?” I asked.

“It’s today, did you forget?” Sam questioned.

“Today?” I asked.

“Yes, the mega lottery is today. Let’s go!” Lacy exclaimed.

“You two realize, you can’t buy a ticket, right?” I questioned.

“We know, but you can,” said Sam.

“Come on, Janie. Please, let’s go. I have a good feeling about this,” insisted Lacy.

“You two are acting weird,” I stated.

“It’s in our blood, baby. Now, come one,” Lacy replied.

“Okay, but what’s gotten into you two?” I asked.

“Tell her,” demanded Lacy.

“No, you tell her,” insisted Sam.

“Okay, fine. Well, you know our club decided a few days ago we would go on a field trip during summer. The thing is, it’s going to be in Scotland, and we want to go. Perhaps, we might get lucky this time and win. Why don’t we try?” suggested Lacy.

“I love you, crazy girls. Fine, let’s go,” I replied.

Moments later we were at the liquor store buying a lotto ticket. A memory flashed before my eyes. No, it couldn’t be. I thought about those numbers in my dream and used them.

That night we became the lucky winners of fifty million dollars. Things were begining to change.

success
Like

About the Creator

Lucero Gonzalez

'It's never too late to be what you might've been.” – George Eliot.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.