Motivation logo

A Purpose In A Poisoned Culture

My Eyes Were Opened So I Could Truly Start Living!

By D. WisekalPublished 3 years ago 3 min read
1

As I venture into Vocal's writing challenges, I found one titled, "Create Your Happiness". As I read over the requirements, I find they're looking for a story of our favourite to-do's, scissor crafts and Art projects. Being a mother of 4, I figure this should be simple enough! I spent weeks trying to focus on these things and come up with something fun and engaging that others could replicate or appreciate. As the timeline for this challenge begins to draw to an end, I realized, I'm just not that shallow anymore. Happiness, for me, runs much deeper than any hobby could uncover.

So what is happiness?

Who am I? Why am I here? What is my purpose?

These are lifelong questions, that people of all cultures and walks of life ask every day!

By Ravi Roshan on Unsplash

Coming from a 'broken home', I've struggled with depression most of my life. At 19, I found myself quickly thrust into parenthood and adulting!

As those around me fell away into their unburdened lives, still partying and travelling on a whim, I used to feel as though I missed out on my opportunity for living and enjoying life, simply because I had my children so young. I felt like it would be decades before I would get that chance again. The chance to explore who I am, find and follow my passion - see the world. I couldn’t very well go back to school for a career while raising 3 children – not unless I left them behind and sacrificed their lives for mine!

Now what?

One day, I realized, as much as those things were something I wanted to eventually still do – they're not what makes a life worth living.

In 2020, Covid-19 hit the world, and life - as we knew it - stopped! Amidst my boredom, I found myself thinking about life like never before. I began to question everything in ways I’d never had before. During this year, I've experienced a deep awakening in my soul, I feel like my eyes had been shielded for years and now they had been uncovered. I even found myself even challenging my own church on the stance they were taking during this time.

We've had another child and, thanks to this 'pandemic', have grown closer than ever before as a family! We've dived whole-heartedly into country life and homeschooling. For the first time, I feel like I'm getting to know ALL my children and we're finally behaving as a family united, instead of simply existing within societal responsibilities.I feel this Homesteading journey is a lot closer to what was intended for us as human beings, than anything else we tend to do in our current culture.

What is more living, than growing and raising your own food, making your own health and beauty products and raising your own family?

People ask their whole lives – “What is my purpose in life?”

Is that not our purpose?

- To take care of and live off this land, raising the next generation to do the same.

- To love and be loved.

- To simply feel the still peace when uniting with nature.

Or is it what society has told and taught us our whole lives?

- That we need to become the richest, or the most famous, or the most respected in an accepted profession that best supports our materialistic society.

- That we need to 'get ours' before someone else does.

Ultimately, you decide.

I was 29 years old when I finally found my purpose – my bliss!

Once I stopped listening to all the "have to's", and started listening to my heart, only then, was I able to find what I truly believed in, without any compromise of self, and what I wanted to spend the rest of my life doing!

I never realized - I’d been doing it the whole time.

-

Thanks for reading!

If you enjoyed this article, please consider leaving a tip and don't forget to share!

Until next time,

- DW

success
1

About the Creator

D. Wisekal

From BC, Canada, a mother of 4, homeschooler and homesteader! Trying to navigate through a poisoned culture, keeping God in mind and heart. 💛

Thanks for reading!

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.