Motivation logo

7 Badass Mantras to Live by

I love a good mantra

By Maria WallischPublished 2 years ago 3 min read
Like
7 Badass Mantras to Live by
Photo by Nick Fewings on Unsplash

As I have discussed previously, I love a good mantra.

I recently did a deep dive on one of my favorite corny, inspirational quotes/mantras, "Look for the Helpers" by Mr. Rogers:

The right mantra can make me feel like my mental health is cured (just kidding, of course, I highly recommend therapy.) However, I think there's something to be said about the mild dopamine boost I get from recalling a particular powerful quote. (I'm not a professional, so don't quote me on that. I just like cheesy quotes, okay?) Here are a few of my favorites.

1. Do no Harm, Take no Shit

By Bonnie Kittle on Unsplash

This one is pretty self explanatory, but it's important for me as a recovering people-pleaser and empath to remind myself that I can maintain my soft, sensitive and loving nature (do no harm), but at the same time, whilst not taking any shit. This mantra reminds me to stick to my boundaries, and not shrink myself for the comfort of others.

2."It's okay if you only save one person, and it's okay if that person is you."

By Jackson David on Unsplash

I actually got this little nugget of wisdom from an old Tumblr post, believe it or not.

Source: https://www.pinterest.com/pin/309622543112192565/

I definitely am someone who can relate to having "a little bit of 'I want to save the world'" in me. I've written previously about being a Highly Sensitive Person, and taking on the pain of others:

3. "I am a hot, smart woman, with an ass that doesn't quit." - Mindy Kaling

Source: https://www.tvfanatic.com/quotes/i-am-a-hot-smart-woman-with-an-ass-that-doesnt-quit/

This one helps me remind myself of what a badass, empowered woman I am, but the sentiment remains regardless of gender. Mindy Kaling is hilarious, and her humorous approach to self-love really resonates with me.

4. You can't change the people around you, but you can change the people around you.

Meaning, we can't force people to change, but we can change who we surround ourselves with. This one has been important for me to remember in my quest to develop rock-solid boundaries that I am able to consistently enforce. Sometimes, you just have to accept people where they are, wish them well, and know that you can't have them around you. This is one of the many things that therapy has helped me to accept, which I have written about previously:

5. "The only way out is through." - Robert Frost

This is a line from Robert Frost's poem “Servant to Servant”, that has served as a good reminder for me when I am experiencing difficult emotions, that I need to sit with them instead of fight them. Of course, this can be applied to just about any adversity or difficult time. I like to remind myself when I am the midst of something, that the only way out is through, so I am already almost through it, while I am in the midst of it.

By Daniel Jerez on Unsplash

6. Comedy = tragedy + time

This one probably isn't helpful to remember in the midst of the tragic or difficult situation, however, I find that it does help to keep in the back of my mind at difficult times in my life, that hard times do usually make good stories.

Just don't tell someone who's in the midst of dealing with something horrible that, they probably don't want to hear it.

7. "I am the Storm"

By Raychel Sanner on Unsplash

“Fate whispers to the warrior, 'You cannot withstand the storm.' The warrior whispers back, 'I am the storm.'”

The exact origin of this one is unclear, but this quote is powerful. This is a mantra that makes me feel badass and powerful, even when I think I'm not. I am the motherfucking storm, baby!

quotes
Like

About the Creator

Maria Wallisch

Self-identified Highly Sensitive Person (HSP) trying to carve out a joyful corner in an increasingly bleak world. I have one daughter, a French Bulldog named Chanel who farts a lot. I'm an Aries.

Instagram: @mariadubbs

Medium: @maria.wallisch

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.