Motivation logo

6 Websites to Build a Writer Portfolio for Free

Writing tips

By CrissPublished 2 years ago 3 min read
Like
6 Websites to Build a Writer Portfolio for Free
Photo by Mimi Thian on Unsplash

I had a challenge while growing my writing career. Most of the clients that I got in touch with wanted to see my portfolio, blog, or articles that I had published online.

I only knew about Upwork or Fiverr, and I’d often share documents of articles I had written with my prospects. Unfortunately, this wasn’t effective, and I barely got the type of clients I wanted — of course, the ones that paid much for my services.

While reading to find how I can build a good portfolio as a writer, I discovered that having a personal blog is a good way to present oneself as a professional to prospective clients. Then I started my first blog.

To be honest, I was quite confused when I started the blog because I didn’t really know the niche to focus on. The sketch in my mind was that I’ll build the blog, use it as a portfolio, and then for advertising too.

The first few contents on the blog were focused on success and motivation. Later on, after taking a deep thought, I decided that the health industry was the best place to pitch my tent as a content writer.

I got a graphic designer to make me a logo, which is quite a funny one when I look back at it. And then I began to excitedly put it to my prospects in my pitches. Hahaha

Unfortunately, it didn’t work much magic also.

Later, I learned about branding and decided on the name. I made some success with the blog, but I lost much of the information on the blog because the developer I hired didn’t inform me about due dates and the likes.

In any case, the reason for the long story is you don’t have to go through the long journey I did. I can recommend 5 websites you can use to build an attractive portfolio online for free! I am on one of them right now.

When your prospects ask you for a link, you can happily send them one and hope for a positive response from your client.

Clippings.me

Clippings.me is an online portfolio for writers that allows you to upload up to 10 samples of your best jobs (It’s unlimited for the paid version). You can also customize your projects with images and then add links to them.

The platform also allows you to upload a professional profile picture, write a short description, and put your best foot forward to impress your prospective clients.

2. About.me

Not basically for writers only, but it allows you to showcase your skills and experience in an attractive way. You can upload a professional picture, talk about your experience, and also add your best projects to your profile.

3. Muck Rack

You’ll especially love this platform if you are into journalism, mainly because it is absolutely free! You can put out endless media content that you have worked on. All you need is to create a profile and familiarize yourself with the navigation on the platform.

4. Medium

Medium allows you to build authority in your chosen niche. More than a portfolio, you can use Medium to build a large following, transfer your content seamlessly between platforms, and showcase yourself as a professional writer.

5. WordPress.com

WordPress.com offers you the opportunity to build a free blog for yourself. Besides the extra “.wordpress.com” extension added to your unique URL, it’s a go.

You can customize your website using the built-in tools and then share it with any client that’s interested in seeing your online portfolio.

6. Vocal.media

Vocal.media offers you the opportunity to build a free blog for yourself. You can pin your best articles, build a large following and earn some extra money.

advice
Like

About the Creator

Criss

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.