Motivation logo

6 Fighting Moves Against the Quater-life Crisis Blues

Because Adulting is so hard

By Sarah BeattiePublished 4 years ago 3 min read
Like
This picture was taken on a camping trip where I started to find myself again.

The dreaded quarter-life crisis. That point in your early twenties usually right after you graduate college where life becomes so unclear and murky. There is so much pressure to figure out your passion and career. Figure out how you are going to support yourself, find your significant other (if you want one), Start a family (if you want one), and try and figure out the rest of your life. It can be very overwhelming especially if you have dreams and they do not seem to be going where you want them to.

1)Unplug and do an activity. I have an app on my phone called flipped. What it does is lock me out of my phone of a certain amount of time. It is a great way for me to unplug and focus on something else. My favorite things to do are to read a book or to go to a museum. It gives me a way to relax and focus on something completely unrelated to my life, or I go to a science museum and remind myself why I got into STEM.

2) Spend a weekend camping or rent a hotel. You don't have to go very far away from home but having a change in surroundings is really good to clear your mind and gain new perspective on things. During the summer and fall I prefer camping because I feel more connected to myself due to the lack of human interaction. During the winter months, which up here in New England last most of the year, I rent a hotel room with a large bathtub that I can take really long baths in and just focus on me.

3)Remind yourself about what got you started. Was it a book or a movie, a place you visited. Everyone had there aha moment at one point whether they were 6 or 16. For me it was watching the Explorers or going to the Boston Museum of Science. As an adult I also get really inspired by Hidden Figures, the Martian, Apollo 13, Mercury 13, and whatever random space documentary I can find on Netflix. Remember why you are pushing so hard to achieve your dream to not lose sight of them or regain sight of them.

4)Hang out with friends. They are your support group and many times they are struggling just as much as you are. It is really easy to isolate when things are not going your way and reaching out to your friends prevents that.

5) Do something outside of your comfort zone. Go on an adventure. Paint pottery. Do something you normally wouldn't do. Life is about taking chances and we grow as humans with the more chances we take. This past year I needed a big change so I packed up my car, got an air mattress for the back seat and drove around for 13 days. I was terrified. I saw some friends a long the way so it wasn't all new but for the most part I was on my own in new places. I was alone with my thoughts all day and slept in my car at night. At the end of it though I figured out what I wanted and what my next step was going to be.

6)Remember that this part of your life will one day be part of your success story. If you keep trying then your dreams will come true. Mine haven't yet but I keep hoping. Until then I keep writing all the crazy stories, adventures and lessons learned.

advice
Like

About the Creator

Sarah Beattie

I am 27 and nothing is going according to plan. The last few years have had a lot of ups and downs as I navigate through a quarter life crisis.

Follow me on Instagram @Beattisa

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.