Motivation logo

5 ways you can be more Productive

How to bring more to your life

By Eric HolleyPublished 4 years ago 5 min read
1

Today we live in a world filled with distractions and social media all around us. Each and every day can be a challenge to be productive and get the most out of yourself! Many times we find ourselves at the end of the day with half the things we wanted to accomplish. With that in mind here are 5 ways you can increase your daily productivity!

1. Write down your daily goals:

Every evening before I get ready for bed I set down and write out my daily goals for the next day. I personally like to put down at least five goals to finish before I think about any leisure. You may do as many goals as you want but I find five to be the sweet number.

Make sure each goal is meaningful and moving you towards the end results you are looking for. These small daily goals will help you stay focused and complete your bigger goals.

For instance I have been writing a book for the past month now. My first daily goal is to write half a chapter or a full chapter. Other goals might include specific research, preparing a blog, or the next chapter in my book.

Each goal serves their purpose for me to achieve my bigger goals in the end. With daily goals you simply lay out a map each day for you to take. Keeping you focused on where you are not just where you are trying to be.

2. Set a completed Time Frame:

When you wake up in the morning and you are getting ready to work on your goals set yourself a time frame you would like to end. This may be hard at first to know how to time it right, but setting a frame will help you focus on your work.

For example I like to be done with my five main goals around lunch time. I like to be done no later then one to give me time to work on other things around the house. Giving yourself a time limit will help you stay focused and work on your projects and not be distracted.

You have to think about it as if you are working for someone else and they want you to complete all your task before you go home. Technically you are working for someone, yourself! So get in the mindset of wanting to finish by a certain time.

3. Start early!

A common mistake many people make today is waiting to late to start. Most would rather sleep in half the day than to get up and get started early. There are benefits to starting early before most others are moving around.

First of all it is peaceful and quite in the early hours of the morning. Before the whole house is up or the streets roaring with cars. You will have the best time to think and meditate on the task at hand. Instead of starting at ten filled with distractions and noise all around.

Second if you start late then half the day is gone before you know it and you will not be able to get much done. Think about it most businesses run 9-5, so if you start at ten or eleven you don't have much time to get things done. Also if you are an investor the best time to study and read the markets for the day is before they open.

So I highly suggest not to start no later than 8 A.M. I personally like to get up and start at six. I for one like to be done early so I can do other things I want and not feel rushed by time. Another thing to consider most successful business men and woman always start early!

4. Read a chapter in a Book:

I know you are probably wondering how this helps you to be productive. Well if you are reading a self help book, or something that will give you knowledge in your field then it is very productive.

One of my daily goals is to read one chapter in a book that will give me knowledge or personal skills. Reading is a great way to learn new things in our life. Plus it gives you a chance to take a break from your other work and reset your mind.

Most chapters are not super long and will take fifteen to thirty minutes of your time. Time that is not wasted if you are learning something new you are wanting to apply to your life. Knowledge and understanding is the key to life and abundance so why not read?

5. Start your morning positive:

There is nothing that will bring you down faster than negativity. How many times have you started your day and within the first hour it is already negative? I know for me it has happened way to many times. That negative energy can cause for a long day and hard time at work.

I encourage you start your day out with a positive podcast or YouTube videos in the morning. You do not have to listen to some hour long podcast or video, but a few five minute videos are great!

Dan Lok is a personal favorite of mine, I love to start my mornings watching one or two videos of his while I eat breakfast. His videos are always about business and how to be successful. They are motivational videos and honestly make me stop and ask myself what am I doing to be productive. Which is what this whole segment is about!

Find someone you love listening to that will be positive and uplifting for your day. I promise it will make all the difference in the world and will push you to be better.

These five steps seems simple, but I promise you they will help you live a more productive life. The simplest of things are the best at times and these are no different.

success
1

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.