Motivation logo

5 Things You Need to Hear Today

Things you need to hear on the bad days

By Tiffani MetzgerPublished 5 years ago 4 min read
Like

Everyone has bad days. Life can go from 0 to 60 in an instant. So, if your life is doing that right now and you're having one of those bad days, then there are a few things that you need to hear today. Whether you realize it or not, you need to hear this from someone because we don't always say certain things often enough.

1. You are loved!

No matter who you are or what's going on in your life, you need to know that you are loved. On those bad days when you are feeling alone and lost, you need to remember that you are loved. I know many of us don't say it enough and we just assume that everyone knows how we feel about them, but sometimes you need to hear someone say it. So, whether everyone says it to you or not, I am saying it right now. You Are Loved! When depression and anxiety get in the way or they are keeping you down, you need to remember that you are loved no matter what. I will say it for the people in your life because it is true.

2. You are beautiful!

Whether you are skinny or large, tall or small, you are beautiful. I have known people of every size, shape and color. Every single one of those people is beautiful in their own way. The same goes for you. I know that for a fact. No matter what other people may tell you. I know you are beautiful. You are the only person who can pull off the way you look with your personality. No one else can do it except for you. Be proud of who you are and how you look. It is your body and your life. No one else's. I know I don't always tell people this enough, so I will say it now. You Are Beautiful!

3. You are kind!

I am disabled, and a lot of times just trying to get the door open at the post office seems like an impossible task. It's a very heavy door and I don't like it. When you have the problems that I do and opening that door is hard, you find out just how kind people really are. I see it everyday in the most random places. I have seen people who are 3 or 4 times my age holding the door open for me and waiting at the door to make sure that I don't fall on my way there. I am not very steady on my feet at all. It always makes me smile to see other people going out of their way to help. So, I know that there is kindness in everyone. I have seen it in many different kinds of people. There was a 6-year-old boy holding open the door at Subway for his family. My mother and I were going in there to, but we weren't anywhere near the door yet. His mother asked him why he was still holding the door. He told her that the two ladies were going in there and someone should hold the door for them. He was so proud of himself that he got to be the one to do it. So, I know you are kind. Maybe you don't always get a chance to show it or you're in a rush and you forget. So, take a minute and remember that you are kind to.

4. You are smart!

No matter what anyone says or does, you are smart. The thing that you need to remember is that we are all smart in our own way. Being smart isn't measured by a test in school. We are all good at something. When you feel like you can't do anything right and you don't know what you're good at, step outside of your comfort zone and try something new. I found out that I actually really love to sew. I know people who are horrible at math but amazing with crafts or writing. I know people who couldn't play a sport if their life depended on it, but they can play music that puts you into a trance. You might need to hear this today or you might need to hear this tomorrow. You Are Smart!

5. You are important!

I have had times where I struggled with a lot of dark stuff, and when those days come around, you need to know that you are important. You do matter. You are not worthless or insignificant or anything else that anyone may have said to you. I was told things like that for a long time and for a while, I actually believed they were right. Now I know better. I know that isn't true for me and it isn't true for you either. You are an amazing person and you are important. Your life matters. I know that and I need you to know it to. You Are Important!

If this helped you or made you feel better today, please let me know by leaving a tip so I can keep sharing things that you might just need to hear today. I know what bad days feel like and it does get better. I hope this helped you today.

advice
Like

About the Creator

Tiffani Metzger

I live in California and I am disabled. I have a number of medical conditions and family issues. The things that always help me get through everything are the different crafts that I do, writing, and the rest of my family.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.